Enter your search term above.

COVID-19: License Portability Updates and State Medical Board Waivers

Page Updated 9/11/20

To help support the healthcare community during COVID-19, we’ve aggregated the latest information on state medical board waivers and license portability to keep you well informed. Browse the federal resources below or jump to your state for specific updates.

Find Your State
See Federal Guidelines

Keep healthcare safe when it matters most.

Below you will find the Federal Guidelines and resources to inform you of the latest actions, regulations, and recommendations in response to COVID-19. Quickly access these resources for information on how to provide telehealth, ways to identify fraudulent activity, how to respond to new emergency situations, and more. State Guidelines below present the most recent data on state medical board licensure waivers or renewal updates, as well as declarations straight from the primary sources.

Please note the date this page was last updated above. While this page is updated regularly, the response to COVID-19 is moving rapidly on a federal and state level. Check the primary sources listed for each state for the most accurate and up-to-date information.




HHS Office for Civil Rights
The United States Department of Justice (DOJ)
The Interstate Medical Licensure Compact (IMLC)
The American Health Law Association
The Federation of State Medical Boards (FSMB)

State Guidelines

Last Source Review: 7/29/2020
Last Updated: 7/29/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/13/2020
Source: Office of the Governor
COVID-19 Information: Alabama Public Health – Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19)

Summary

  • Status: Active until the end of the COVID-19 emergency.
  • Physician and Physician Assistants who possess a full and unrestricted medical license from appropriate medical licensing agencies may apply for and receive temporary emergency licenses to practice in Alabama for the extent of the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • If you have a current DEA registration in any jurisdiction, upon issuance of the Temporary Emergency Medical License, you will receive an Alabama Controlled Substances Certificate for the sole purpose of treating patients, suffering from and affected by COVID. The Alabama Controlled Substances Certificate will specifically prohibit the prescribing of controlled substances via telemedicine.

Advanced Practice Nurse Grace Period
Advanced practice nurses are granted a 15-day grace period from the date of expiration of national certification for the Board to receive primary source verification from the certifying agency, provided that the certification did not actually expire.

Temporary Nurse Licenses Extended
All temporary permits with valid terms of fewer than 180 days are extended to 180 days.

Reactivation Fees Lowered and Waived Requirements for Nurse Reactivating Licenses
The fee for reactivation of a retired nursing license within two years of retirement is reduced from $600.00 to $250.00 for the duration of the public health emergency.

CE requirements for reinstatement of a lapsed license or reactivation of a retired license are suspended for the duration of the public health emergency.

Emergency Rule Filing 610-X-4-.19ER

Temporary Emergency License: Physicians

The Board and Commission have established temporary emergency licensure processes to authorize physicians to provide health care to Alabamians suffering from and affected by SARS-CoV-2 and the disease known as COVID-19.

A temporary emergency license shall expire on July 21, 2020, or when the Governor proclaims the termination of the state’s public health emergency, whichever is sooner.

Temporary Emergency License C19 

Temporary Emergency License: Physician Assistants and Anesthesiologist Assistants
Effective March 23, 2020: The Board and Commission have established temporary emergency licensure processes to authorize assistants to physicians to provide health care to Alabamians suffering from and affected by SARS-CoV-2 and the disease known as COVID-19.

An emergency license to practice as an assistant to a physician issued under this rule shall expire on July 21, 2020, or when the Governor proclaims the termination of the state’s public health emergency, whichever is sooner.

Temporary Emergency

Physician Licenses

A physician with an inactive license (that was active in 2017, 2018, or 2019) can reinstate their license, and license will expire 12/31/2020, and fees and continuing education requirements are waived.

Joint Emergency Rule for Expedited Reinstatements – COVID-19

A physician with an active/unsuspended license, who executed a retirement waiver within 24 months, can reenter the workforce for the sole purpose of treating COVID19 patients – must submit the application with name, ALL licenses held and numbers, mailing address, contact info, proposed practice location, intended medical practice type, AND a certification of license. CME requirements and fees are waived.

Continuing Medical Education Requirements

All licensees (MD/DO/PA/AA) are exempt from the CME requirement for the calendar year 2020, and no audit for 2020 will be conducted. This includes the annual requirement of 25 credits for license renewal, the biannual requirement of 2 credits for ACSC renewal, and the biannual requirement of 4 credits for QACSC renewal.

Last Source Review: 7/29/2020
Last Updated: 7/29/2020

Date of Declaration: N/A as of 3/30/2020
Source: N/A as of 3/30/2020
COVID-19 Information: Alaska Department of Health and Social Services – COVID-19 Update

Summary

  • Status: Active until the end of Alaska State of Emergency per AK SB 241.
  • A professional or occupational licensing board may grant a license, permit, or certificate on an expedited basis to an individual who holds a corresponding license, permit, or certificate in good standing in another jurisdiction to the extent necessary. A license expedited by this section expires on September 1, 2020
  • An emergency courtesy license may be issued to an applicant who practices medicine or osteopathy to provide emergency medical or mental health care within the scope of the emergency
  • ADHS is allowed to waive licensing requirements to provide healthcare officials with assistance in delivering services during times of heightened demand.
  • Licenses that have an expiration date between 3/1/2020 and 9/1/2020 may defer the renewal requirements by 6-months unless requirements can be done online.
  • Out of State Nurses can apply for a courtesy license, expires 8/7/2020
  • For those who practice medicine and osteopathy and have a retired license, which was issued in the past two years, can apply for a courtesy license
  • For Out-of-State providers who practice medicine and osteopathy, can apply for a courtesy license.
  • For as long as the Secretary’s designation of a public health emergency remains in effect, DEA-registered practitioners may issue prescriptions for controlled substances to patients for whom they have not conducted an in-person medical evaluation, provided all of the following conditions are met: 1) The prescription is issued for a legitimate purpose by a practitioner acting in the usual course of their professional practice. 2) Is conducted using an audio-visual, real-time, two-way interactive communication system. 3) The practitioner is acting in accordance with applicable federal and state law.

COVID-19 Disaster Packet

Telehealth & Licensing During COVID-19

Last Source Review: 7/29/2020
Last Updated: 7/29/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/11/2020
Source: Office of the Governor
COVID-19 Information: Arizona Department of Health Services – Highlighted Infectious Diseases for Arizona

Summary

  • Status: Active until the end of the COVID-19 Emergency.
  • A state agency or board that licenses shall… a) defer requirements to complete CE by six months, unless the requirements can be completed online or are not practical b) or suspend any rules that prevent or limit the amount of online or alternative learning hours permitted to renew a license
  • ADHS is allowed to waive licensing requirements to provide healthcare officials with assistance in delivering services during times of heightened demand.
  • Licenses that have an expiration date between 3/1/2020 and 9/1/2020 may defer the renewal requirements by 6-months unless requirements can be done online.
  • Individuals may apply for a temporary license with the Board to aid in the diagnosis and treatment of COVID-19 in AZ.
  • Physicians with inactive licenses (within 4 years), can be issued a temp active license by applying for a temp emergency license.
  • Out of State MD’s can apply for an emergency temp license which will expire 90 days after being issued or when the state of emergency is over, whichever happens first.
  • Out of State DO’s can apply for an emergency temp license
  • A state agency or board that licenses shall… a) defer requirements to complete CE by six months, unless the requirements can be completed online or are not practical b) or suspend any rules that prevent or limit the amount of online or alternative learning hours permitted to renew a license.
  • Executive Order 2020-07 orders the Department of Health Services and all Arizona health regulatory boards to prohibit, investigate, and take action against any licensed health professional or institution that engages in price gouging in relation to COVID-19*

36-787. Public Health Authority During State of Emergency or State of War Emergency

The department has primary jurisdiction, responsibility, and authority for:
Number 6: Establishing, in conjunction with applicable professional licensing boards, a process for a temporary waiver of the professional licensure requirements necessary for the implementation of any measures required to adequately address the state of emergency or state of war emergency.

Number 7: Granting temporary waivers of health care institution licensure requirements necessary for the implementation of any measures required to adequately address the state of emergency or state of war emergency.

Arizona State Legislature – View Document

COVID-19: Declaration Of Emergency, Executive Order

Establishes the Arizona Department of Health Services (ADHS) as the entity responsible for coordinating all matters pertaining to the public health emergency response of the State.

Allows ADHS to waive licensing requirements to provide healthcare officials with assistance in delivering services during times of heightened demand.

Declaration of Emergency

Last Source Review: 7/29/2020
Last Updated: 7/29/2020

Date of Declaration: Not Available
Source: Not Available
COVID-19 Information: Arkansas Department of Health – COVID-19

Summary

  • Status: Active, currently scheduled to expire in mid-August.
  • The expedited license renewal process for a single state, 3-month licenses. Not available for nurses with current discipline*
  • Emergency Temporary Licenses for Medical Residents, approved temp license valid til 6/5/2020 unless otherwise extended.
  • Arkansas is party to the Uniform Emergency Volunteer Health Practitioners Act, which allows state government, in a declared emergency, to give reciprocity to other state’s licensees so that covered individuals may provide emergency health services without meeting the disaster state’s licensing requirements.
  • Re: extension of state of emergency – Arkansas’ governor [Huchinson] is extending the state’s public health emergency for an additional 45 days [until mid-August] as the state continues to see more cases of the coronavirus.
  • In response to the current health crisis and Executive Order 20- 16, the ASMB voted to grant a Border State Emergency Temporary License to physicians that are currently practicing in any lf the six bordering states [Texas, Oklahoma, Missouri, Tennessee, Mississippi, Louisiana] and also holds an active and unrestricted medical license in that state with the understanding that this is for telemedicine only for already established Arkansas patients*
  • In response to the current health crisis and Executive Order 20- 16, the ASMB voted to grant a Border State Emergency Temporary License to physicians that are currently practicing in any of the six bordering states [Texas, Oklahoma, Missouri, Tennessee, Mississippi, Louisiana] and also holds an active and unrestricted medical license in that state with the understanding that this is for telemedicine only for already established Arkansas patients.
  • The Arkansas State Medical Board voted to allow prescribers to see patients and prescribe controlled substance medications via telemedicine for a six-month period during the public health emergency, so long as the prescription is a refill only and not a change to the current medication.

Last Source Review: 7/29/2020
Last Updated: 7/29/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/4/2020
Source: Office of the Governor
COVID-19 Information: California Department of Public Health – COVID-19 Updates

Summary

  • Status: EMS Authority’s ability to accept out-of-state personnel will be active for the duration of the emergency.
  • Licensees are allowed to temporarily restore an inactive or retired license without having to pay any fees to complete, or demonstrate compliance with, any CE requirements for up to six months. A licensee with a canceled status that was voluntarily surrendered within the last five years not relating to disciplinary action may meet the waiver criteria as well.
  • Governor’s Emergency Declaration permits out-of-state medical personnel to provide services as prescribed in Government Code section 179.5. Providers are considered licensed, certified, or permitted as long as they are properly credentialed in their home state
  • No Registered Nurse expiration grace period
  • Licenses that expire between 3/31/2020 and 6/30/2020 will have their CME or examination requirements waived, and they’ll have up to 6 months after Declaration is lifted to make up these requirements.
  • CNA with a recently expired license (within 2 years) and licenses who will expire during state emergency may work during the duration of the state emergency.
  • Out-of-state LVNs and RNs that have active licenses or licenses that were active within 2 years can work as CNAs

Out-of-State Licensed Practitioners

Any out-of-state medical personnel, including, but not limited to, medical personnel, entering California to assist in preparing for, responding to, mitigating the effects of, and recovering from COVID-19 shall be permitted to provide services in the same manner as prescribed in Government Code section 179.5 with respect to licensing and certification.

Proclamation of a State of Emergency

Last Source Review: 7/29/2020
Last Updated: 6/18/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/11/2020
Source: Guidance issued by Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies
COVID-19 Information: Colorado Department of Public Health & Environment – Information on the Outbreak of COVID-19

Summary

  • Status: Active, currently scheduled to expire in early August.
  • Suspension of requirement requires a physician to have been on inactive status for not more than two years prior to receiving a pro bono license
  • Colorado is one of the only states that does not require any continuing medical education for physicians (from the state’s Medical Practice act)
  • 60 day grace period for providers operating on an expired or lapsed license
  • Out-of-state Physician or Physician-in-Training can practice in CO with a valid, unrestricted license
  • A nurse who is part of the Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (eNLC) can work
    in Colorado without the need to obtain a license

All Medical Professionals with Expired Colorado or Out-of-State License Can Work in CO

Under the direction of Governor Jared Polis, the Division of Professions and Occupations at the Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA) has conducted a review of existing licensing exemptions that allow for individuals in the healthcare field who either hold licenses in other states or who have allowed their license to expire in Colorado to immediately resume work within their scope of practice, provided their out-of-state or expired license is/was in good standing.

A provider with an expired or lapsed license, registration, or certification may operate within a 60 day grace period without being subject to penalties or fines under C.R.S. §12-20-202(1)(e).

Last Source Review: 7/29/2020
Last Updated: 7/29/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/10/2020
Source: State of Connecticut – Department of Public Health
COVID-19 Information: Connecticut Department of Health – Information on the Outbreak of COVID-19

Summary

  • Status: Active, currently scheduled to expire January 14, 2021, per EO 7HHH.
  • Under Executive Order 7DD, the continuing education requirements for providers with annual continuing education requirements are suspended for a period of (1) year. Additionally, for those provider types that have other continuing education requirements, such requirements are suspended for a period of six (6) months.
  • DPH is asking healthcare professionals, such as retired nurses and doctors, to consider volunteering their services at a medical facility in Connecticut. Those willing to volunteer should fill out the online form located at ctresponds.ct.gov, and their information will be reviewed by staff at DPH who will connect the volunteer to a location in need.
  • Under Executive Order 7DD, the continuing education requirements for providers with annual continuing education requirements are suspended for a period of (1) year. Additionally, for those provider types that have other continuing education requirements, such requirements are suspended for a period of six (6) months.
  • Out-of-state Physicians or Surgeons with a valid, unrestricted license can practice in CT for 60 days.
  • CT’s Commissioner of the Department of Public Health issued an order on 3/23 stating: Physicians, nurses, respiratory care practitioners, emergency medical services personnel, and other health care practitioners who are licensed in another state may provide temporary assistance in CT for a period of 60 days. 
  • Out-of-state medical professionals with a valid, unrestricted license can practice in CT for 60 days – applies to the following lines of work: EMS, Medical and Surgery, PT, Nursing, Nurse Aides, Respiratory Care Practitioners, Psychologist, Martial and Family Therapist, Clinical and Master Social Workers, Professional Counselors, EMS Personnel, Pharmacy. 
  • Licenses expired after 3/30/2020 will not expire for 6 months after the date of the resumption of the renewal requirements.
  • Existing Connecticut law provides that “Department of Public Health may establish a process of accepting an applicant’s license from another state and max issue that applicant a license to practice medicine in the state without examination if certain conditions are met” (Conn. Gen. Stat. 20-12).
  • Waiving the homebound requirements for all otherwise coverable medical telemedicine services; Addition of specified “New Patient” Evaluation and Management (E&M) Services; and Waiving the originating site requirements for psychiatric diagnostic evaluations.
  • Under Executive Order 7GG, out-of-state practitioners, who are working within their scope of practice in the state in which they are licensed may prescribe controlled substances in Connecticut without obtaining a Controlled Substance Registration from the Department of Consumer Protection.
  • On July 14, Gov. Lamont signed and Executive Order 7HHH, which extends the suspension of the requirements of licensure for physicians and PAs for six months [January 14, 2021] unless earlier modified or terminated.
  • Under Executive Order 7DD, the CE requirements for providers with annual CE requirements are suspended for a period of (1) year. Additionally, for those provider types that have other CE requirements, such requirements are suspended for a period of six (6) months.

State of Connecticut Department of Public Health

Government Ned Lamont – FAQ on the State of Connecticut’s response to COVID-19

Last Source Review: 7/29/2020
Last Updated: 7/29/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/18/2020
Source: State of Delaware – Executive Department of Dover
COVID-19 Information: Delaware Department of Health

Summary

  • Status: Active, until end of Delaware State of Emergency (currently scheduled to expire in late August).
  • Mental health Inactive licenses (within five years) can provide healthcare services – as long as that license was active and in good standing for the duration of the given year prior to the date, it went inactive, expired, or lapsed. Any out-of-state healthcare provider, inactive healthcare provider, or a qualified person appointed pursuant to this order shall be considered a public employee.
  • When completing your online renewal, any licensee who attests that they have had difficulty completing CEs before the renewal due to the declared State of Emergency will be immediately granted additional time to complete their CEs. If the declared State of Emergency has impacted your ability to complete your CEs, you will be given sixty days after the State of Emergency declaration has been lifted to complete your CEs for this renewal cycle.
  • An individual must be registered with the Medical Reserve Corp before they may be activated to provide healthcare services as a volunteer.
  • Any in-person requirement prior to telemedicine services under Title 24 is waived. Regulation 19 on Telemedicine, including audio-visual requirements, are suspended.
  • DE HB 348, which passed the second chamber on June 25 and is on the Governor’s desk, would eliminate authorization for out-of-state practitioners to practice telemedicine and telehealth in Delaware with the exception of mental health care providers. It retains the suspension of certain regulations that limit the practice of telemedicine.

Out-of-state providers can practice telemedicine with an active license from another state

Second modification to the State of Emergency 

Out of State medical professionals can provide healthcare in DE

Out of state health care providers, including physicians, pharmacists, respiratory therapists, physician assistants, paramedics, emergency medical technicians, practical nurses, professional nurses, advanced practice registered nurses, and nursing assistants with an active license or certification in good standing in any United States jurisdiction are hereby authorized to provide healthcare services in Delaware; and

Inactive DE licenses (within five years) can provide healthcare services

All physicians, pharmacists, respiratory therapists, physician assistants, paramedics, emergency medical technicians, practical nurses, professional nurses, advanced practice registered nurses, and nursing assistants who have held an active Delaware license or certification within the last five years, which is now inactive, expired, or lapsed, may provide healthcare services in Delaware, so long as that license was active and in good standing for the duration of the five-year period prior to the date it went inactive, expired or lapsed; and

Out of State Mental health providers can provide in-person and telemedicine services

All out of state mental health providers with an active license in good standing in any United States jurisdiction, including psychologists, mental health counselors, clinical social workers, chemical dependency counselors, and marriage and family therapists are hereby authorized to provide in-person and telemedicine mental health services in Delaware; and

Mental health Inactive licenses (within five years) can provide healthcare services

All psychologists, mental health counselors, clinical social workers, chemical dependency counselors, and marriage and family therapists who have held an active Delaware license within the last five years, which is now inactive, expired, or lapsed, may provide mental healthcare services in Delaware, so long as that license was active and in good standing for the duration of the five-year period prior to the date it went inactive, expired or lapsed; and

Nursing and Medical Students can provide medical services with supervision

Students currently enrolled in a Delaware Board of Nursing approved nursing school are hereby authorized to conduct medical examinations and tests, and perform administrative duties, so long as any such student is supervised by a nurse, physician assistant, advanced practice registered nurse, or physician with an active Delaware license; and

Students currently seeking a degree that will meet the requirements of 24 Del. C. § 1720(b)(2) when the degree is conferred, are hereby authorized to conduct medical examinations and tests, and perform administrative duties, so long as any such student is supervised by a physician with an active Delaware license

Joint Order of the Department of Health and Social Services and the Delaware Emergency Management

Last Source Review: 7/29/2020
Last Updated: 7/29/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/21/2020
Source: State of Florida Department of Health Emergency Order
COVID-19 Information: What You Need to Know Now About COVID-19 In Florida

Summary

  • Status: Uncertain.
  • On April 16, the Florida Department of Health Office of the Clerk stamped receipt of the Florida surgeon general’s Emergency Order 20-004, extending Emergency Order 20-002 until May 8, 2020.
  • Re: renewals – Gov. DeSantis directed all agencies to suspend for 30 days licensing and registration renewal requirements for existing processional licenses.
  • The Florida Department of Health will temporarily reactivate unencumbered inactive licenses for those who make a request through the Department as provided for in section 381.00315(1)(c)3.
  • On March 13, the Florida Board of Osteopathic Medicine waived the requirement for live, participatory attendance for certain CE courses for the 2018-2020 biennium.
  • “Health care professionals, advanced life support professionals, and basic life support professionals holding a valid, unrestricted, and unencumbered license in any state, territory, and/or district may render such services in FL during a period not to exceed 30 days unless extended by order of the State Surgeon General if such health care practitioner does not represent or hold themselves out as a health care practitioner licensed to practice in FL.”
  • Issued Emergency Order DOH No. 20-008 extending the licensure renewal expiration date until August 31, 2020 for any health care practitioner with licensure renewal deadlines between May 31, 2020 and July 31, 2020.
  • Licenses expiration dates extended from 5/31/20 to 8/31/20 for: Psychologist, Limited License Psychologist, Certified Nursing Assistant, Electrologist, Electrolysis Facility, Radiologic Technology, Radiologic Assistant, Radiologic Technology, Radiologic Assistant, Registered Nurse, Advanced Practice Registered Nurse, Radiologic Technology, Radiologist Assistant
  • Healthcare providers with inactive licenses can request to reactivate their licenses for 90 days to assist with COVID 19 emergency response.
  • Reactivated licenses will return to inactive when the public health emergency ends or before if the State Surgeon General determines that the health care provider is no longer needed.
  • Florida Board of Osteopathic Medicine entered into emergency rule-making and adopted Rule 64B15ER20-18, which waives the requirement for live, participatory attendance for certain continuing education courses for the 2018-2020 biennium, in accordance with Executive Orders 20-51 and 20-52 declaring a public health emergency pursuant to the spread of the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19).

Out-of-State Licenses

Health care professionals not licensed in this state may provide health care services to a patient in this state using telehealth, notwithstanding the requirements of section 456.47(4)(a) through (c), (h), and (i), Florida Statutes, for a period not to exceed 30 days unless extended by order of the State Surgeon General.

EMT Life Support Action Extension

Any emergency medical technician or paramedic possessing a clear and active Florida license or certification under section 456.001(4), and part III of chapter 401, Florida Statutes, may provide basic or advanced life support in an acute care setting at a hospital licensed under chapter 395, Florida Statutes.

Last Source Review: 7/29/2020
Last Updated: 7/29/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/14/2020
Source: Georgia Board of Nursing, Georgia Governor Executive Order
COVID-19 Information: Georgia Department of Public Health

Summary

  • Status: Active, currently scheduled to expire on July 31.
  • Re: Extension of State of Emergency – Gov. Brian Kemp has reissued an executive order extending Georgia’s COVID-19 public health emergency declaration until July 31.
  • The Georgia Composite Medical Board is authorized to grant temporary licenses to physicians who apply for a temporary medical license and are currently licensed as a physician in good standing by equivalent boards in other states to assist with the needs of this public health emergency. Before practicing medicine in Georgia under this provision, the applicant must receive the Board’s approval of several rules.
  • Retired/inactive physicians are allowed to assist during the crisis by submitting an emergency practice application that is also being used by out-of-state healthcare professionals.
  • Authority for an emergency practice permit derives from GCMB Rules 360-2-.13, which states that “…the Board may waive some of the licensure requirements in order to permit the provision of emergency health services to the public.”
  • 90-day emergency permits for out-of-state medical professionals (must be issued).
  • The board shall be authorized to issue telemedicine licenses to physicians who are licensed in other states but not licensed in this state to engage in the practice of medicine through telemedicine, as defined in Code Section 33-24-56.4.
  • To be eligible for a telemedicine license, the physician shall: (1) Hold a full and unrestricted license to practice medicine in another state; (2) Not have had any disciplinary or other action taken against him or her by any other state or jurisdiction; and (3) Meet such other requirements established by the board pursuant to subsection (c) of this Code section as deemed necessary by the board to ensure patient safety.
  • The Board issued Ga. R & Regs. 360-3-.08 allowing for electronic prescribing during the emergency. This modification allows DEA registered practitioners to issue prescriptions for controlled substances for patients for whom they have not conducted an in-person medical evaluation.

90 Day Emergency Permits for Out of State Medical Professionals

The Georgia Composite Medical Board announced today that it may approve and issue “emergency practice permits” to out of state physicians, physician assistants, advanced practice registered nurses, and respiratory care professionals who wish to practice medicine during the public health emergency response to novel coronavirus, known as “COVID-19.”

All permits issued under this provision shall be valid for 90 days or until the statement of emergency or disaster has been lifted by the governor, whichever comes first. Get the most updated list by clicking the link “Approved EP Permits MMDD” from the Georgia Composite Medical Board website.

30 Day Permit for Out-of-State APRN, LPN, and RN – Fees Waived

Pursuant to the authority in O.C.G.A. T. 43, Ch. 26 and consistent with the Governor’s Executive Order for a State of Emergency, the Georgia Board of Nursing authorizes staff to assess applications for temporary permits and to issue temporary permits to licensed practical nurses, registered nurses and advanced practice registered nurses who have an active, unencumbered license in any other U.S. jurisdiction who are entering into the state to respond to the declared emergency.

The Board is hereby waiving any application fee for the temporary permit during the State of Emergency for those applying to practice for the purpose of responding to the declared emergency.

The temporary permit is valid for thirty (30) days. The Board may extend the expiration date of the temporary permit.

Last Source Review: 7/29/2020
Last Updated: 7/29/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/16/2020
Source: Office of the Governor, State of Hawaii
COVID-19 Information: State of Hawaii Department of Health

Summary

  • Status: Active until the end of the COVID-19 emergency.
  • Re: renewals – The deadline to renew current licenses that expire by June 30, 2020, has been extended to July 31, 2020. •
  • Chapter 457, HRS, nurses, and chapter 16-89, HAR, nurses, to the extent necessary to allow out-of-state licensed practical nurses, registered nurses, advanced practice registered nurses, and advance practice registered nurses with prescriptive authority with a current and active license, or those previously licensed pursuant to chapter 457, HRS, but who are no longer current and active, to practice in Hawai’i without a license.

Out-of-State Physicians, Osteopathic Physicians, and PAs with Valid License Currently Employed by a State, County or Facility, Can Practice in HI

Chapter 453, HRS, medicine and surgery, and chapters 16-85 and 16-93, HAR, medical examiners and osteopaths, to the extent necessary to allow out-of-state physicians, osteopathic physicians, and physician assistants with a current and active license, or those previously licensed pursuant to chapter 453, HRS, but who are no longer current and active, to practice in Hawaii without a license; provided that they have never had their license revoked or suspended and are hired by a state or county agency or facility, or by a hospital, including related clinics and rehabilitation hospitals, nursing home, hospice, pharmacy, or clinical laboratory.

Out-of-State Nurses with a Current and Active License, or Those Previously Licensed Pursuant to Chapter 457, HRS, but Who Are No Longer Current and Active, Can Practice in HI

Chapter 457, HRS, nurses, and chapter 16-89, HAR, nurses, to the extent necessary to allow out-of-state licensed practical nurses, registered nurses, advanced practice registered nurses, and advance practice registered nurses with prescriptive authority with a current and active license, or those previously licensed pursuant to chapter 457, HRS, but who are no longer current and active, to practice in Hawaii without a license; provided that they have never 796854_10  6 of 7 had their license revoked or suspended and are hired by a state or county agency or facility, or by a hospital, including related clinics and rehabilitation hospitals, nursing home, hospice, pharmacy, or clinical laboratory.

Last Source Review: 9/8/2020
Last Updated: 9/82020

Date of Declaration: 3/13/2020
Source: State of Idaho Board of Nursing, Idaho Board of Medicine
COVID-19 Information: Idaho Official Resources for COVID-19

Summary

  • Status: Idaho’s state of emergency currently scheduled to expire September 6, 2020
  • Re: renewals – The Board of Medicine is… delaying all license renewals and supervisory registrations set to expire on June 30, 2020 in Idaho.
  • All licensees and those with supervisory registrations will not be required to renew their license or registration until October 31, 2020.
  • For all medical licenses expiring on June 30th, 2020, the expiration date has been extended to October 31st, 2020 as part of the Board’s response to the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • The Idaho BON is currently offering temporary licensure for: inactive licensees wishing to reactive their unencumbered Idaho license, one-time short-term licensure for LPNs and RNs licensed in non-compact states, expedited temporary licensure for APRNs licensed in another state, and New Graduate Licenses for Senior Nursing students. Fees and background checks have been temporarily waived. Nursing students that have successfully completed a basic fundamentals nursing course and are in good academic standing may apply for the Nurse Apprentice program. If the Nursing Student/Nurse Apprentice has successfully completed a pharmacology course, they may assist with medication administration. Nursing students may count Nurse Apprentice and New Graduate Temp hours as clinicals.
  • Board will issue temporary (120 day) licenses to in-state and out-of-state Medical Doctors, Doctors of Osteopathy, Physician Assistants, and Respiratory Therapists who have retired or hold an inactive license; must have actively practiced within the last 5 years and be in good standing with Idaho or other states.
  • Retired or inactive Idaho MDs, DOs, and PAs (within 5 years) may apply for a 120 day, temp license.
  • Waived registration requirements to become  Supervising Physicians.
  • Temporary licensure for one-time short-term licensure for Licensed Practical Nurses and Registered Nurses licensed in non- compact states, expedited temporary licensure for Advanced Practice Registered Nurses licensed in another state.
  • LPN, RN, and ARPN Nurses with inactive licenses can reactivate them with fees waived
  • Idaho Governor Little signed an executive order making permanent more than 150 emergency rules enacted since March to address the COVID pandemic such as allowing the use of Zoom, Facetime, and other applications and making it easier for providers to offer telehealth services, allowing out-of-state providers with valid licenses to treat Idaho residents through telehealth.
  • Temporary Suspension of rules: 22.01.01.079. Rules of the Board of Medicine for the Licensure to Practice Medicine and Osteopathic Medicine (CME).
  • Waiver of CME requirements: During the COVID response, the Board may waive or extend the time to complete CME credits required for licensure renewal.

Last Source Review: 7/29/2020
Last Updated: 7/29/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/18/2020
Source: Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
COVID-19 Information: State of Illinois Coronavirus (COVID-19) Response

Summary

  • Status – Active, currently scheduled to expire September 30.
  • Re: renewals – The state is automatically extending licenses through the end of September.
  • Re: Extension of State of Emergency – On May 29, Gov. Pritzker reissued most of these orders in an executive order coinciding with the disaster proclamation, extending them until June 27.
  • CE is allowed remotely for programs or requirements that had mandated in-person participation. This requirement did not apply to all professions regulated by IDFPR. For medical or osteopathic physicians and surgeons and chiropractic physicians the requirement for 60 hours of Category I CE did not include a requirement for in-person attendance
  • Renewal dates between March 1, 2020 through and including July 31, 2020 are granted an automatic extension to renew to September 30, 2020
  • Expedited licensure for former Nurses, Physicians, Physician Assistants, Respiratory Care Specialists who recently left the field – expires 9/30/2020
  • Physicians and Physician Assistants with expired or inactive licenses from the last 3 years can temporarily restore their licenses and practice through 9/30/2020 in an approved facility
  • Out-of-state Licensed Practical Nurses, Registered Nurses, Advanced Practice Registered Nurses, Physician Assistants, Respiratory Care Practitioners, Physicians, and Surgeons with an active license in good standing can practice on a temporary permit. 
  • Out-of-state physicians, nurses, physician assistants, pharmacists, and respiratory care therapists may practice in Illinois if they are licensed in another state and are in good standing.
  • These licensees must be operating under the authority of IEMA/IDPH or at a long-term care facility, hospital or FQHC, and must meet the standards of care mandated by the respective healthcare acts. They must provide contact information and dates of arrival and departure on forms provided by IDFPR. This temporary practice approval expires on September 30, 2020.
  • Health insurers may not impose utilization review requirements, prior authorization requirements for in-network providers providing telehealth services related to COVID-19, cost-sharing obligations for telehealth services provided by in-network providers.

Last Source Review: 7/29/2020
Last Updated: 7/29/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/19/2020
Source: State of Indiana Executive Department
COVID-19 Information: State of Indiana Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) 

Summary

  • Status: Active until further notice.
  • Re: license verification – Waiver of Out-of-State Licensure Verification by Board: The Indiana Medical Licensing Board is temporarily waiving the application of 844 IAC 4-4.5- 7(a)(8) insofar as it requires applicants for licensure who are licensed in another state to have verification sent by the state that issued that license directly to the board. This waiver is temporary during the public health emergency and will be effective immediately once the emergency is lifted.
  • Suspension of the requirement that a healthcare provider holds an IN license if they have an equivalent from another state.
  • Individuals who seek to provide healthcare in IN and are not currently licensed to practice in the state, either because their IN license is no longer active or they are licensed by another state, may obtain temporary authorization to provide healthcare services as outlined: Retired healthcare professionals – within the past five years has retired or surrendered their license or whose license is otherwise inactive but the license was not revoked, suspended or relinquished, may provide healthcare services in IN without reinstatement or approval by the relevant licensing board. This temporary authorization is only effective during the public health emergency and will be initially limited to a period of 90 days which may be renewed in 30-day increments.
  • Healthcare providers with an inactive license or retired license (within 5 years) may obtain temporary authorization to provide health care services.
  • Out-of-state health care professionals can practice in IN as long as they are currently licensed and in good standing in another state.
  • APRNs can provide services in multiple locations under a single written collaboration agreement.
  • Mental health professionals may practice via telemedicine.
  • The Initial Telemedicine Provider Certification Request must be completed and filed with the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency before the provider may establish a provider-patient relationship or issue a prescription under IC 25-1-9.5-8 for an individual located in Indiana.

Last Source Review: 9/8/2020
Last Updated: 9/8/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/17/2020
Source: State of Iowa Executive Department
COVID-19 Information: Iowa Department of Public Health

Summary

  • Status: Active, currently scheduled to expire September 20
  • Re: Renewals – All license renewal requirements and deadlines are temporarily suspended during the period of this health emergency. If a licensee had an active Iowa medical license on March 22, 2020, the expiration date will be automatically extended for the duration of this health emergency.
  • All requirements for in-person CME and all deadlines and other requirements for CME that are unable to be satisfied due to COVID are temporarily suspended. If a licensee is unable to complete the required CME required for renewal of their Iowa medical license due to COVID, they should note that on their next renewal application.
  • Out-of-state nurses can provide emergency services when the state of emergency is declared.
  • All license renewals requirements and deadlines are temporarily suspended during this period (ex: if Iowa license was active on March 22nd, 2020, the expiration date will be automatically extended for the duration of the health emergency).
  • Out-of-state Physicians may practice medicine/telemedicine in Iowa on a temporary basis if they are currently licensed and in good standing in another US jurisdiction.
  • Those with licenses that have lapsed or expired within the five (5) years prior to the Proclamation may practice medical and nursing care for the treatment of victims of this public health disaster emergency, solely for the duration of this Proclamation.
  • Waiving field experience hours for students if higher education institution determines the student has completed enough field experience.

Last Source Review: 9/8/2020
Last Updated: 9/8/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/22/2020
Source: Kansas State Board of Healing Arts, Kansas State Board of Nursing
COVID-19 Information: Kansas Department of Health and Environment

Summary

  • Status: Active, the current state of emergency is scheduled to expire September 15, 2020
  • HB 2016 clarifies that emergency licenses can be granted until January 26, 2021.
  • Any and all provisions in Kansas law or regulations are temporarily suspended to the extent that they require any healthcare professional, as a condition of licensure, certification, registration, or the renewal of a license or reinstatement within five years of a lapsed license.
  • The Board is extending continuing education deadlines until 90 days following the termination of the State of Disaster Emergency declaration for licensees who were unable to obtain the required continuing education due to the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Fees will be waived to obtain a temporary license.
  • Temporary Respiratory Therapist licenses are valid for 6 months.
  • Temporary Radiologic Technologist licenses are valid for 180 days.
  • Temporary Physical Therapist and Physical Therapist Assistant licenses are valid for up to 3 months.
  • Temporary Occupational Therapist and Occupational Therapy Assistant licenses are valid for up to 1 year.
  • The Board is extending continuing education deadlines until 90 days following the termination of the State of Disaster Emergency declaration for licensees who were unable to obtain the required continuing education due to the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Licensees currently in the renewal process will certify either that you have completed the required CEs, or if you have not yet completed them, that you understand you are required by law to complete them within 90 days following termination of the State of Disaster Emergency declaration. The Board will verify compliance by auditing an undetermined percentage of renewal applications.

Temporary Waiver of Licensure Requirement for Qualified Telemedicine Services

Out-of-state physicians may utilize telemedicine when treating patients in Kansas without the necessity of securing a license to practice medicine in the state, provided the out of state physician advises the Kansas Board of Healing Arts of the physician’s practice in this state via telemedicine in writing in a manner to be determined by the Kansas Board of Healing Arts and holds an unrestricted license to practice medicine in the state in which the physician practices and is not the subject of an investigation or disciplinary proceeding. The Kansas Board of Healing Arts is authorized to extend the provisions of this paragraph to other healthcare professionals regulated by the board to the extent the board deems such extension both necessary or appropriate to address impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic and consistent with patient safety.

Temporary Modifications to Board Enforcement of Physician Assistant Regulations

This includes:

  • Temporary limited waivers of physician supervision requirement for ED and ICU coverage
  • T temporary suspension of limitations on the number of Physician Assistants that can be supervised at an off-site clinic
  • Temporary limited suspension of enforcement of initial 100% chart review requirements for new PA/supervising physician relationships
  • Temporary limited waiver of practice agreement protocol and documentation requirements

Will Nursing Licenses Expire? 

The requirement for licensure renewal every two years is in statute and the actual expiration dates are set in regulation (every two years the last day of the birthday month, odd or even years based on whether born in odd or even year). The Board of Nursing cannot change statutes Legislative action or a Governor’s Executive Order.

 

Last Source Review: 7/29/2020
Last Updated: 7/29/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/06/2020
Source: Kentucky State of Emergency Declaration, Kentucky Board of Medical Licensure
COVID-19 Information: Kentucky COVID-19 Official Source

Summary

  • Status: Active, until the end of the Kentucky State of Emergency.
  • State statutes and regulations have the ability to be waived if: to reactivate the licenses of inactive and retired healthcare providers, including emergency medical providers and nurses, to allow them to re-enter the healthcare workforce.
  • Out-of-state nurses can practice in KY as long as they are currently licensed in another state.
  • Medical and Osteopathic physicians not already licensed to practice in the Commonwealth of Kentucky may register to practice within KY.
  • Previously retired emergency medical service personnel can be rehired for the duration of the state of emergency.
  • Temporary work permit available to health care providers who apply for and is eligible for reinstatement of a lapsed or retired license.
  • 90-day Temporary work permit available for out of state pharmacist and technicians.
  • KY SB 150] gives the Kentucky Board of Medical Licensure, the Kentucky Board of Emergency Medical Services, and the Board of Nursing the ability to waive or modify state statutes and regulations: (a) For licensure or certification requirements for healthcare providers who are licensed or certified in other states to provide services in Kentucky;… (d) To allow for rapid certification or licensure and recertification or re-licensure of health care providers.
  • Other temporary changes DMS has made to the 1915(c) HCBS (Medicaid) waivers include expanding the provider base by waiving requirements that out of state providers be licensed and located in Kentucky as long as they are licensed by another state’s Medicaid agency.

Last Source Review: 7/29/2020
Last Updated: 7/29/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/11/2020
Source: Louisiana Declaration of Public Health Emergency
COVID-19 Information: Office of the Governor – Coronavirus Information

Summary

  • Status: Active until further notice.
  • Any healthcare student, graduate, or an active member/retiree of the healthcare workforce are encouraged to volunteer to help LA during COVID.
  • General CME requirement and CME audits will be temporarily suspended for 2020 (this does not apply to the 3 hour required CME on controlled dangerous substances (CDS) for first-time license renewal of authorized prescribers of CDS).
  • Relating to temporary permits issued to RN applicants. Under the emergency provisions, the LSBN may extend the expiration of a temporary permit or reinstate an expired permit for nursing graduates who have not taken the NCLEX-RN provided that they meet the 3 stipulations identified in the emergency rule. Any permit extended or reinstated in accordance with the public health emergency exception shall be valid for 120 days and may be extended for additional 90-day increments.
  • The licensed Louisiana hospital shall verify all physicians’ credentials and privileges; the hospital shall keep a list of all physicians coming to practice… and provide written notice to the LSBME of the date the physician stopped practicing medicine in Louisiana.
  • The Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners has an emergency temporary permit application on their website for licensed out-of-state medical professionals seeking a temporary, voluntary license for an emergency event in the state of Louisiana.

The Louisiana Health Emergency Powers Act provides for the temporary appointment, licensing, or credentialing of in-state and out-of-state health care providers.

Out-of-State medical professionals can get a 60-day emergency temporary permit to practice in LA. 

The board may issue an emergency temporary permit to an individual to practice as a physician or allied healthcare practitioners, valid for a period of not more than 60 days to provide voluntary, gratuitous medical services in this state during a public health emergency, and for such periods thereafter as DHH shall deem the need for emergency services to continue to exist, at sites specified by DHH or approved by the board. Applies to: physician, athletic trainer, clinical exercise physiologist, clinical laboratory scientist, midwife, occupational therapist, occupational therapist assistant, perfusionist, physician assistant, podiatrist, polysomnographic technologist, polysomnographic technician, private radiological technologist, respiratory therapist, respiratory therapist assistant.

Out-of-State Acupuncture detoxification specialists can practice in LA.
Acupuncture detoxification specialist from other states who are certified by NASA shall be allowed to practice acupuncture detoxification in Louisiana during a public health emergency and for such periods thereafter as the Louisiana Department of Health deems the need for emergency services to continue to exist, under rules and regulations set forth by the board.

More Detail on Emergency Temporary Permits

Last Source Review: 9/11/2020
Last Updated: 9/11/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/17/2020
Source: State of Maine Governor’s Office – Proclamation of State of Civil Emergency to Further Protect Public Health
COVID-19 Information: Maine Department of Health and Human Services Coronavirus Resources

Summary

  • Status: Active for the duration of the public health emergency, currently scheduled to expire September 3, 2020.
  • Re: renewals – Keep licenses from expiring or needing to be renewed for 30 days after the declaration of the emergency.
  • MD applicants must have a valid medical license or physician assistant license in another state that remains valid for the duration of the emergency license (100 days) or have retired their Maine medical license or physician assistant license within the past two years. Applicants who have disciplinary or adverse action in the past ten years involving loss of license, probation, restriction, or limitation do not qualify for licensure
  • For DOs and PAs: if you have been disciplined by a licensing Board within the last 10 years, you do not qualify for this license; you must have a valid license, in good standing, in another state which will remain valid for a minimum of 90 days from the issue of this license or, you must have retired within the last 24 months
  • Keep licenses from expiring or needing to be renewed for 30 days after the declaration of the emergency (including CME requirements)
  • Governor may “modify or suspend the requirements for professional or occupational licensing or registration by any agency, board or commission if strict compliance with such requirements would in any way prevent, hinder or delay necessary action in dealing with the emergency.”
  • Declaration of Emergency allows for the expedited licensure of out-of-state Physicians and Physician Assistants and Nurses
  • Expedited Licensure (fees waived) for Physicians and Physicians Assistants who were retired (within 2 years) OR licensed in another jurisdiction
  • All licenses that come up for renewal during the time of the public health emergency will have 30 days after the emergency ends to renew their license (CME requirement extended).
  • Maximize the use of telemedicine and telehealth and eliminate the need for some in-person patient visits for the duration of the emergency by: (1) Allowing voice-only technology to be used; and (2) Suspending any laws or rules related to state medical record privacy and HIPAA that would interfere with the use of telemedicine and telehealth technology.

Last Source Review: 7/29/2020
Last Updated: 7/29/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/16/2020
Source: The State of Maryland Executive Department
COVID-19 Information: Maryland Department of Health

Summary

  • Status: Active, until end of Maryland State of Emergency (currently set to expire August 1).
  • Any requirement that licensees on inactive status to apply for and meet requirements to reactivate the license while working at a healthcare facility is suspended. Inactive Maryland licensees are not required to apply to the Board for reactivation for their license during the state of emergency while working at a healthcare facility.
  • Out-of-state healthcare providers with a valid license may practice in Maryland with the issuance of a temporary healthcare license. The temporary license will expire at the termination of the state of emergency.
  • Those with an inactive license may practice without first reinstating under this criteria: a qualified supervisory personnel concludes their competence; doing so allows the facility to meet staffing ratios; the person could not reasonably reinstate their license in sufficient time.
  • All licenses are extended until the 30th day after the state of emergency is lifted.
  • For the duration of the Maryland State of Emergency, healthcare practitioners who have an active license in good standing in another state or the District of Columbia may practice telehealth without a Maryland license to provide continuity of care to existing Maryland patients.
  • Re: prescribing controlled substances – Maryland law requires that licensed healthcare practitioners have a Maryland controlled dangerous substances (CDS) registration in order to prescribe CDS… Federal law also requires that licensed healthcare practitioners have a DEA registration to prescribe CDS… the DEA has waived the required registration in each state in which the practitioner practices for the duration of the PHE… Accordingly, the MDOH interprets the order to allow out-of-state practitioners to practice in Maryland… to be allowed to prescribe CDS in Maryland without obtaining a Maryland CDS registration.
  • Re: renewals – Because renewing expiring permits or licenses often requires the public to enter public buildings and interact with state employees; all licenses, permits, registrations, and other authorizations issued by the state, its agencies or any political subdivision that would expire during the current state of emergency will be extended until the 30th day after the state of emergency is lifted.
  • Re: Maryland Medicaid – Maryland Medical Assistance Program (Maryland Medicaid) is temporarily not enforcing the COMAR 10.09.36.02 requirement to “be licensed and legally authorized to practice or deliver services in the state in which the service is provided.” The Program will not suspend any Medicaid providers whose licenses are set to expire until the state of emergency ends. Furthermore, effective March 5, 2020, Maryland Medicaid has reactivated provider licenses with the end of February expiration dates that had not been updated in ePREP… Enroll Providers with Expired Licenses or Licenses from Out of State: Maryland Medicaid will not enforce the COMAR 10.09.36.02 requirement to have an active license on file to receive payment for services during the state of emergency. Maryland Medicaid will permit enrollment for an individual who has an expired Maryland license or out-of-State license, as long as there is no apparent Board sanction.

Last Source Review: 7/29/2020
Last Updated: 7/29/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/10/2020
Source: Commonwealth of Massachusetts, Massachusetts Department of Health – COVID-19
COVID-19 Information: Massachusetts Department of Public Health

Summary

  • Status: Active until the end of Massachusetts State of Emergency.
  • Re: renewals – All physicians whose licenses have or will come up for renewal during the State of Emergency, which was declared on March 10, 2020, shall have their renewal date extended until 90 days after the end of the Emergency.
  • Any physician who has retired from the practice of medicine within one year of Executive Order No. 591, dated March 17, 2020, may have their license reactivated upon request
  • For the duration of the state of emergency and until December 31, 2020, the CME requirement for physicians is suspended
  • All occupational licenses, certifications, permits, and certificates issued by a state agency or any board of registration or division with licensing authority in good standing that were due to expire during the state of emergency beginning March 10, 2020 through the date of termination of the state of emergency will be assigned a new temporary expiration date equal to 90 days after the termination date of the state of emergency. Licenses, certifications, permits, and certificates of registration that expired prior to March 10, 2020 will continue to be reported as expired.

Grace Periods, Education Requirements & State Lines

RN, LPN, Pharmacist, and Physician Assistant expiring Registrations are extended for and shall remain valid until at least 90 days following the termination of the state of emergency.

The Board of Registration in Nursing, The Board of Registration in Pharmacy, The Board of Registration of Physician Assistants shall waive requirements for completion of training and continuing education for individuals whose licenses are extended pursuant to this Order.

Also, no board of registration shall prohibit licensed nurse, social worker, psychologist, or medical doctor in “good standing” from providing services using telemedicine across State lines to their established patients who during the 2019-2020 academic year have been enrolled in college in MA.

March 17, 2020 | Office of the Governor

Physicians who retired within one year shall have licenses immediately reactivated upon request

Physicians expiring Registrations are extended for and shall remain valid until at least 90 days following the termination of the state of emergency.

Out-of-state physicians who prove they are good standing in another state can get an emergency Massachusetts license that shall remain valid during the state of emergency – emergency license will allow a physician to provide in person and telemedicine services.

Office of the Governor | Order Expanding Access to Physician Services

Flexible Reassignment of Physician Assistants

In accordance with the Commissioner’s Order, employers of physician assistants may designate a new supervising physician for the physician assistant as needed to maximize health care provider availability to respond to increased healthcare needs during the state of emergency.  Pursuant to this Order, a physician may delegate performance of medical services to a physician assistant and the physician assistant may perform such medical services provided certain conditions have been met.

Emergency Credentialing – Hospital Guidance
No healthcare facility can require a licensed independent practitioner that currently works at another healthcare facility to collect and provide a credentialing packet. Instead, all healthcare facilities must rely upon the confirmation from a healthcare facility where the independent licensed practitioner is currently credentialed.

The credentialing of a licensed independent practitioner at another healthcare facility may be on a temporary basis to allow healthcare facilities to respond to the COVID-19 outbreak.

Nursing Licensure Changes
On March 11, the Board of Registration in Nursing updated its policies to expedite the processing of reciprocal license applications for nurses that are licensed in another jurisdiction to allow those applications to be processed in one business day.
Commonwealth of Massachusetts Board of Registration in Nursing

Telehealth
The Department of Public Health has issued guidance that requires all commercial insurers, self-insured plans, and the Group Insurance Commission are required to cover medically necessary telehealth services related to COVID-19 testing and treatment. Insurers must do this without requiring cost-sharing of any kind – such as co-pays and coinsurance – for testing and treatment.

PRESS RELEASE | ORDER

Office of the Governor | Order Expanding Access to Telehealth Services

Last Source Review: 7/29/2020
Last Updated: 7/29/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/16/2020
Source: Bureau of Professional Licensing | Exemption of Michigan Licensure
COVID-19 Information: Michigan DHHS

Summary

  • Status: Out-of-state practice privileges rescinded per EO 2020-150.
  • Re: Ending out of state waivers – On July 13, 2020, Gov. Whitmer issued Executive Order 2020-150 to rescind a previous order (Executive Order 2020-61) that had permitted… healthcare professionals who are licensed in good standing in other states or United States territories to practice in Michigan without criminal, civil, or administrative/licensure penalties for lack of Michigan licensure.
  • LARA is ensured an adequate supply of care providers during the emergency by granting the department additional flexibility in its decisions about licensing, registration, and workflow requirements
  • Individuals who were licensed as a health professional but have been retired for five or fewer years may be eligible to provide services and practice their previously licensed profession under this provision to assist health care providers during the COVID-19 response and while the State of Emergency is in effect
  • LARA may renew a license to practice…regardless of whether the licensee has satisfied the CE requirement applicable to their license…LARA may recognize hours worked responding to COVID as hours towards CE courses or programs required for licensure.
  • Out-of-State Healthcare practitioners licensed and in good standing can practice in Michigan.
  • MCL 333.16171 says…” An individual who by education, training, or experience substantially meets the requirements for licensure while rendering medical care in a time of disaster or to an ill or injured individual at the scene of an emergency” is not required to have a license issued for practice
  • Licenses may be renewed even if continuing education requirements haven’t been fully met.
  • Michigan public emergency extended to August 11th.
  • Any and all provisions in Article 15 of the Public Health Code are temporarily suspended, in whole or part, to the extent necessary to allow healthcare professionals licensed and in good standing in any state or territory in the United States to practice in Michigan without criminal, civil, or administrative penalty related to lack of licensure… (C) CE while the emergency declaration is in effect.

Last Source Review: 9/8/2020
Last Updated: 9/8/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/13/2020
Source: N/A
COVID-19 Information: Minnesota Department of Health

Summary

  • Status: Active until the end of the peacetime emergency declared in Executive Order 20-01, per EO 20-46, currently scheduled to expire September 11, 2020
  • Out-of-state healthcare professionals, engaged with a healthcare system or provider and in good standing, can render aid in MN (must report to MN Dept. of Health within 60 days of the peacetime emergency end date.
  • Health-related licensing boards are authorized to defer continuing education reporting requirements until the first full reporting cycle following termination of the peacetime emergency.
  • The 3/31/2020 expiration date for any registrations or certificates issued by the board [changed] to 6/30/2020, and to allow for such registration or certificate holders to complete their continuing education requirements through distance learning.
  • The deadline for continuing education requirements for Licensed Nursing Home Assistants (LNHA) extended to 6/30/2020.
  • Expanding the definition of telemedicine to include telephone calls for providers who have in place a telemedicine agreement with the Minnesota DHA* • Allowing more than three telemedicine visits in a week for Medical Assistance, MinnesotaCare, and Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) enrollees.
  • EO 20-23 authorizes Health-Related Licensing Boards to defer CE reporting requirements until the first full reporting cycle following termination of the peacetime emergency. It is important to note that CE requirements are deferred and NOT waived.

 

Last Source Review: 7/29/2020
Last Updated: 7/29/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/14/2020
Source: State of Mississippi Office of the Governor
COVID-19 Information: Mississippi Department of Health

Summary

  • Status: Active until further notice.
  • The Board waives any and all Mississippi licensing requirement for out-of-state physicians whose specialty services are determined to be necessary by MSDH, provided the out of state physicians holds an unrestricted license to practice medicine in the state in which the physician practices and currently is not the subject of an investigation or disciplinary proceeding.
  • The requirement for a preexisting doctor-patient relationship does not apply for in-state physicians.
  • Disaster Temporary Permits will be issued to all eligible individuals who are classified in one of the following categories: (1) new graduates of approved nursing schools (2) endorsement applicants and (3) qualified applicants from other states. Disaster Temporary Permits will also be issued to eligible reinstatement applicants and nurses who have maintained inactive status. This Disaster Temporary Permit will allow all eligible nursing applicants to work in the State of Mississippi. This Disaster Temporary Permit is not a license but a permit that will expire in 120 days unless the Board approves a renewal period. Unless otherwise excepted, all licensure requirements will remain in full force and effect until further notice.
  • Out-of-state Advanced Practice Registered Nurses and Physicians with a valid license (not subject to investigation or disciplinary proceedings) may utilize telehealth when treating patients in MS without the necessity of securing a license.
  • Advanced Practice Registered Nurses not licensed in MS and who wish to practice in MS shall complete the disastrous/emergency waiver.
  • All healthcare professionals and assisting personnel executing in good faith under the “alternative standards of care” are hereby declared to be “Emergency Management Workers” of the State of Mississippi for the purposes of Miss. Code Ann. Title 41.
  • Provided that the out-of-state physician holds an unrestricted license to practice medicine in the state in which that physician practices and currently is not the subject of an investigation or disciplinary proceedings, the Board waives any and all MS licensing requirements for the said physician.
  • Disaster Temporary Permits will be issued to all eligible individuals who are classified in one of the following categories: (1) new graduates of approved nursing schools (2) endorsement applicants and (3) qualified applicants from other states. Disaster Temporary Permits will also be issued to eligible reinstatement applicants and nurses who have maintained inactive status. This Disaster Temporary Permit will allow all eligible nursing applicants to work in the State of Mississippi. This Disaster Temporary Permit is not a license but a permit that will expire in 120 days unless the Board approves a renewal period. Unless otherwise excepted, all licensure requirements will remain in full force and effect until further notice.

Last Source Review: 7/29/2020
Last Updated: 7/29/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/13/2020
Source: Missouri Secretary of State
COVID-19 Information: Missouri Department of Health & Senior Services

Summary

  • Status: Active until the end of the COVID-19 emergency.
  • The executive order temporarily suspends rules requiring a physical exam and maintaining a contemporaneous record.
  • Retired/inactive individuals with an MO license are able to return to practice to assist solely with COVID-19. Physicians that fall under these licensure waivers do not have to make an application for reinstatement or notify the Board of their desire to return to practice to assist with COVID-19.
  • Out-of-State licensed Physicians and surgeons can assist Missourians during the COVID-19 crisis.
  • MO Board of Nurses (MBON): “Anyone who graduated on or after 12/16/19, has not previously taken the NCLEX® and has not been denied a license is now authorized to practice as a graduate nurse pending the results of their first licensing exam or 180 days after graduation, whichever first occurs.”
  • MBON will automatically extend any unexpired temporary permit an additional (6) months. This does not require any action by the nurse.
  • During this state of emergency in Missouri, physicians and surgeons licensed in another state can provide care to Missouri citizens, in-person or using telehealth options, as long as they are actively licensed in another state and their license has not been disciplined.

Last Source Review:  7/29/2020
Last Updated: 7/29/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/20/2020
Source: Office of the Governor State of Montana
COVID-19 Information: Montana DPHHS

Summary

  • Status: Active until further notice.
  • The Montana Department of Labor & Industry has implemented a COVID-19 Emergency Healthcare Registration for out-of-state healthcare licensees requesting to actively work in Montana for a defined period of time. The Department will evaluate your home state license(s) according to licensing regulations in Montana, to verify it is currently active, unrestricted, and in good standing, and issue you a registration to work in Montana.
  • Montana is one of the only three states that does not require any CME for physicians.
  • Healthcare providers who held a Montana license terminated within the last 5 years and a clean disciplinary record may receive a temporary permit without paying a fee or demonstrating recent CME.
  • Montana Department of Labor and Industry may provide interstate licensure recognition whenever a state of emergency or disaster is in effect by registering professionals who possess an active, unrestricted license in another state.
  • Healthcare practitioners shall be allowed to perform health care services using all modes of telehealth.

Last Source Review: 8/11/2020
Last Updated: 7/29/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/12/2020
Source:  Nebraska State of Emergency, Executive Order No. 20-10
COVID-19 Information: Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19)

Summary

  • Status: Active, expires 30 days after the end of the COVID-19 emergency.
  • Re: renewals – Licenses due to be renewed during the declared emergency will be extended until 30 days after Executive Order 20-10 is no longer in effect. Renewal notices will then be sent, and licensees will have 90 days to renew by attesting to meeting the continuing education requirement and paying the renewal fee.
  • Permit individuals who are properly and lawfully licensed to engage in advanced practice nursing, emergency medical services, medicine, and surgery, mental health practice, nursing, osteopathy, perfusion, pharmacy, psychology, respiratory care, and surgical assisting in a US state or territory to work in Nebraska during the state of emergency so long as they are in good standing and free from disciplinary action in the states where they are licensed.
  • EO 20-10 also defers the requirements for healthcare providers to pay initial licensing fees or to complete CE.
  • Governor is temporarily waiving the restrictions on licensed out-of-state medical professionals working in NE.
  • Includes waiving license fees, allowing transfers from state-to-state, waiving renewals, waiving test results before practice, and waiving some FBI checks.
  • Executive Order 20-10 allows expired and inactive Nebraska license-holders to temporarily reinstate their expired or inactive licenses to active status without having to meet the continuing competency requirements for the time that the Executive Order is effective. The expired or inactive license-holder must submit a completed reinstatement application to the Department. This reinstatement process is only effective throughout the duration of Executive Order 20-10.
  • Licenses due to be renewed during the declared emergency will be extended until 30 days after Executive Order 20-10 is no longer in effect. Renewal notices will then be sent, and licensees will have 90 days to renew by attesting to meeting the continuing education requirement and paying the renewal fee.
  • Out-of-state providers who work in Nebraska pursuant to Executive Order 20-10, Coronavirus, Additional Healthcare Workforce Capacity, are authorized to use telehealth under the same statutory provisions that permit Nebraska health care providers to use telehealth… Because a declared state of emergency related to the coronavirus is in effect, healthcare providers are not required to obtain a patient’s signature on a written agreement prior to providing telehealth services, and insurance claims for telehealth will not be denied solely on the basis of lack of a signed written statement.

Last Source Review: 9/8/2020
Last Updated:9/8/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/12/2020
Source: Declaration of Emergency Directive 011, Declaration of Emergency Directive 009
COVID-19 Information: Nevada Health Response

Summary

  • Status: Directive 009 (Revised) shall terminate on June 30, 2020 at 11 :59 pm. All time tolled by Section 2 shall recommence effective July 31, 2020 at 11:59 pm. All licenses and permits issued by the State of Nevada, Boards, Commissions, Agencies, or political subdivisions, that expired between March 12, 2020 and June 30, 2020 because reduced government operations due to the state of emergency made timely renewal of the license or permit impracticable or impossible, shall be deemed valid and expire on September 28, 2020 at 11:59 pm. This provision shall not be construed to extend to any license within the scope of Directive 011.
  • Professional licensing boards regulating providers of medical services shall temporarily waive certain licensing requirements to allow the practice of currently unlicensed skilled medical professionals during the pendency of the COVID-19 crisis. For the purposes of this Directive, a provider of medical services includes all categories of skilled personnel deemed necessary by the Governor’s COVID-19 Medical Advisory Team to augment and bolster Nevada’s healthcare workforce to the levels necessary to combat this pandemic, including without limitation, medical doctors, physician assistants, nurse practitioners, advanced practice registered nurses, registered nurses, licensed practical nurses, emergency medical technicians, advanced emergency medical technicians, respiratory care practitioners, paramedics, pharmacists, pharmacy technicians, medical students, nursing students, medical laboratory directors or technicians, and licensed or certified behavioral health professionals.

All Licenses Extended by 90 Days

All licenses and permits issued by the State of Nevada, Boards, Commissions, Agencies, or political subdivisions of the State of Nevada that expire or are set to expire during the period the Declaration of Emergency dated March 12, 2020 is in effect shall be extended for a period of 90 days from the current expiration date, or 90 days from the date the state of emergency declared on March 12, 2020 is terminated, whichever is later, if reduced government operations due to the state of emergency make timely renewal of the license or permit impracticable or impossible.

Out-of-State, Late Fee Lapsed, Education Failed Suspended, or Retired Licensed Providers Can Practice in Nevada

The waiver and exemption of professional licensing requirements shall apply to qualified providers of medical services during this declared emergency who currently hold a valid license in good standing in another state, providers of medical services whose licenses currently stand suspended for licensing fee delinquencies, providers of medical services whose licenses currently stand suspended for failure to meet continuing medical education requirements, and providers of medical services who have retired from their practice in any state with their license in good standing. These waivers and exemptions shall not apply to persons whose licenses have been revoked or voluntarily surrendered as a result of disciplinary proceedings.

The Chief Medical Officer is authorized to approve the wavier and exemption of professional licensing requirements for any provider of medical services who have received training in another country but is not currently licensed in the United States, subject to verification of their credentials.

Providers Can Practice Outside Their Scope

All providers of medical services in the State of Nevada are authorized to practice outside the scope of their specialization, within the limits of their competency, to the extent necessary to augment and bolster Nevada’s healthcare system during the COVID-19 crisis.

License Fees Waived

All licensing fees assessed on providers of medical services by the State of Nevada or professional licensing boards shall be waived for all persons applying to practice in the State of Nevada pursuant to this Directive, for the duration that this Directive shall be in effect. Providers of medical services currently licensed by the State of Nevada may, at their election, delay submission of outstanding licensing fees for the period this Directive shall be in effect, except that no person who has paid the fee prior to the date of this Directive shall be entitled to a refund thereof by virtue of this order. No license for a provider of medical services shall be suspended for non-payment of licensing fees while this Directive is in effect, and for a period of 60 days thereafter.

Continuing Education Requirements are Waived

No license for a provider of medical services shall be suspended for any administrative reasons, including without limitation, continuing education requirements while this Directive is in effect, and for a period of 60 days thereafter. This restriction shall not be construed to prohibit the suspension or revocation of licenses for reasons that jeopardize patient health, including without limitation, incompetency, or malpractice.

Occupational Therapist license dates are not extended, but fees and educational requirements may be deferred until 10/1/2020. 

Last Source Review: 7/29/2020
Last Updated:7/29/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/13/2020
Source: State of New Hampshire Office of the Governor
COVID-19 Information: New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services

Summary

  • Status: Active, until the end of the New Hampshire State of Emergency.
  • Re: extension of the state of emergency – Governor Chris Sununu extended the declared State of Emergency until June 5.
  • (1) Certain CE requirements for licensed professionals waived… all CE requirements are hereby waived for those licensees who are scheduled to renew between March 13, 2020 and December 31, 2020. (2)… for licensees whose CE requirements are not waived under (1) above, licensees shall be allowed to complete CE through remote instruction until December 31, 2020…
  • Any out-of-state personnel, including, but not limited to, medical personnel, entering New Hampshire to assist in preparing for, responding to, mitigating the effects of, and recovering from COVID-19 shall be permitted to provide services in the same manner as prescribed in RSA 21-P:41 and any other applicable statutory authority with respect to licensing and certification regarding mutual aid during emergencies for a period of time not to exceed the duration of this emergency.
  • People licensed under the Office of Professional Licensure and Certification (OPLC) – CME requirements are waived for those set to renew their license between 3/31/2020-12/31/2020, if the license is to require renewal after 12/31/2020, one complete some CME requirements remotely until 12/31/2020.
  • Any out-of-state medical personnel, entering NH to assist in preparing for, responding to, mitigating the effects of and recovering from COVID-19 shall be permitted to provide services for a period of time, not to exceed the duration of the emergency.
  • Out-of-state medical providers licensed in Maine, Massachusetts, or Vermont who hold an emergency license in New Hampshire pursuant to EO #15, may prescribe schedule IIIV controlled substances without registering wit the New Hampshire Controlled Drug Prescription Health and Safety Program (PDMP) subject to the following conditions: (1) The out-of-state medical provider is properly registered with their respective PDMP.

Last Source Review: 8/11/2020
Last Updated: 7/29/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/20/2020
Source: New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs, New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs – Out-of-State, New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs – Waivers of Licensing Rules
COVID-19 Information: New Jersey Department of Health

Summary

  • Status: Active until the end of the COVID-19 emergency.
  • Re: extension of the state of emergency – New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy (D) issued an order which extended the state of emergency until August 4.
  • NJ is allowing nurses who hold active, unencumbered, multi-state licenses issued by Nurse Licensure Compact member states to practice in New Jersey under their multi-state licenses
  • On April 1, Executive Order No. 112 was signed by Gov. Murphy, allowing the Division of Consumer Affairs to temporarily reactive the licenses of recently retired healthcare professionals (within 5 years). Temp license will last for the duration of the State of Emergency or Public Health Emergency.
  • Individuals who hold current healthcare licenses and certifications in good standing in other jurisdictions, and have been practicing within the last five years, will be able to secure NJ licenses by completing a simple form
  • Many regulatory requirements for telehealth and telemedicine services are waived
  • The State of New Jersey is issuing temporary, emergency licenses to foreign-licensed physicians so that they may provide essential healthcare services during the current public health emergency
  • State of New Jersey has waived certain regulatory provisions regarding licensure of health care practitioners through reciprocity
  • New Jersey issues waivers of licensing rules and relaxation of restrictions.
  • Telehealth Reimbursement/Coverage Expansion: Increased access to telehealth under state Medicaid and direct third-party insurance administrators to inform beneficiaries about the availability of telemedicine and telehealth services.
  • On July 1, Gov. Murphy signed NJ S. 2467, which ensures that out-of-state healthcare practitioners may continue to provide telemedicine to NJ residents until 90 days following the public health emergency.

Last Source Review: 8/11/2020
Last Updated: 8/18/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/11/2020
Source: State of New Mexico Executive Order
COVID-19 Information: New Mexico Department of Health

Summary

  • Status: Active until gubernatorial rescission.
  • Re: Extension of State of Emergency – This Executive Order shall take effect immediately and shall remain in effect until July 1, 2020 unless renewed or until the Governor rescinds it.
  • A physician unable to fulfill the CME requirements prior to the date of license expiration may apply to the board for an emergency deferral of the requirements by submitting a request in writing no later than July 1 of the renewal year. A designee of the board may grant a deferral of up to 90 days.
  • All nursing professionals who are licensed and in current good standing, in any province or territory of Canada, may be authorized by the New Mexico Department of Health (“NMDOH”) to work in any New Mexico healthcare facilities during the pendency of any declared public health emergency arising from the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • A physician unable to fulfill the CME requirements prior to the date of license expiration may apply to the board for an emergency deferral by submitting a request no later than July 1 of the renewal year – a deferral may be granted for up to 90 days.
  • NM Stat 12-10-11: a person who holds a license, certificate, or other permit that is issued by the state or other territory of the United States and that evidences the meeting of qualifications for professional, mechanical, or other skills may be credentialed, to render aid involving those skills to meet an emergency.
  • The use of electronic means to assess and provide responsible care during emergency will not be considered unethical or violate the Medical Board rules.
  • For renewal of a license, if providers are unable to complete 75 CME’s for renewal, an extension of 3 months can be added upon request for an “emergency deferral.” Licensees must petition the board prior to the renewal date if they find they cannot meet the required amount of CMEs.
  • Nursing Practice Act (61-3-1 through 61-3-31 NMSA 1978) 61-3-29. shall not apply to or affect: in case of a medical emergency, Nurses currently licensed to practice as a Registered Nurse or Licensed Practical Nurse in a jurisdiction of the United States may practice in NM without making application for a New Mexico license for a period not to exceed 30 days.
  • Agencies shall credential out-of-state professionals who can render aid or necessary services during the pendency of this order.
  • The NMBON is automatically extending RN/PN initial by exam applications with expiration dates through April 30, 2020 for 60 days.
  • Due to the public health emergency declared by Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham in Executive Order 2020-004, and to the cancellation of continuing education (CE) opportunities, the Board of Osteopathic Medicine will implement the following procedures through the Regulation and Licensing Department, Boards and Commissions staff: Boards and Commissions staff will process renewals without the proof of continuing CE credit needed for renewal during the pendency of the public health emergency instituted by Executive Order 2020-004… When the public health emergency is lifted, Boards and Commissions staff will send out a notice to licensees stating that the licensee has 6 months, depending upon the Board or Commission, to submit their proof of CE or be subject to discipline by the Board.

Last Source Review: 7/29/2020
Last Updated:7/29/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/18/2020
Source: State of New York Executive Chamber
COVID-19 Information: New York State Department of Health

Summary

  • Status: Active, until the end of New York State of Emergency.
  • Extension of EO – Any suspensions or modifications of any law heretofore suspended in Executive Order 202 is extended for a period of 30 days to allow those professionals to the ability to continue to services necessary towards COVID-19.
  • Extension of OOS – Gov. Cuomo has allowed out-of-state healthcare professionals to practice in the state for an additional 30-day period. This order has been extended by EO 202.32 until June 20.
  • Registered Nurses, Licensed Practical Nurses, Nurse Practitioners and Physicians licensed and in current good standing in any state in the US can practice in NY.
  • Permits unlicensed individuals deemed adequate by the Commissioner of Health to collect swab and throat specimens.

Last Source Review: 8/11/2020
Last Updated: 8/18/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/10/2020
Source: State of North Carolina | Governor Roy Cooper
COVID-19 Information: North Carolina Department of Health & Human Services

Summary

  • Status: Active, expires 30 days after the end of the COVID-19 emergency.
  • NCMB has extended the expiration dates of temporary licenses issued during the state of emergency – this allows anyone with a Limited Emergency License to have a ‘window down’ period before their license in North Carolina expires.
  • Nurses holding an active, unrestricted single state license in a non-compact state can practice in NC during periods of official emergency or disaster.
  • License requirements now waived for health care and behavioral health care personnel who are licensed in another state.
  • Physicians or PAs with an inactive license (within 24 months) can obtain a temporary license for whichever period is shorter: 90 days or 30 days from the point at which the state of emergency has been lifted.
  • ”WHEREAS, for these reasons, the undersigned has determined that the occupational licensing boards established by the General Assembly should be empowered in their discretion to waive or modify enforcement of legal or regulatory constraints that would prevent or impair North Carolina from putting to work (i) health care professionals who are licensed in other states, but not licensed here, (ii) retired or inactive health care professionals, (iii) skilled, but unlicensed volunteers, and (iv) students in their professional fields;”
  • In light of the anticipated duration of the COVID-19 pandemic, NCMB has extended the expiration dates of certain emergency temporary licenses issued during the declared state of emergency. The decision extends the timeline for emergency licenses issued to 30 days after the current state of emergency is lifted. This change will allow anyone with a Limited Emergency License (namely, out-of-state clinicians who have obtained temporary licensure to assist in North Carolina) to have a ‘wind down’ period before his or her license to practice medicine in North Carolina expires.

Last Source Review: 8/11/2020
Last Updated: 8/18/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/13/2020
Source: North Dakota | Governor Doug Burgum
COVID-19 Information: Official Portal for North Dakota State Government

Summary

  • Status: Active, until the end of North Dakota State of Emergency.
  • Suspension of licensure requirements for health care or behavioral care professionals who are licensed and in good standing in other states, for citizens impacted by COVID-19, subject to identification, verification of credentials and other temporary emergency requirements
  • North Dakota Century Code 37-17.1-05: if a person holds a license issued by any state, the person may render aid to meet an emergency or disaster, and ND shall give due recognition to the license.
  • The licensure requirements for healthcare or behavioral health professionals licensed under the following Chapters of the North Dakota Century Code are hereby suspended… Chapter 43-17 (Physicians and Surgeons)… who are licensed and in good standing in other states, as needed to provide health care and behavioral health services, to include telehealth care for citizens impacted by COVID-19, subject to identification, verification of credentials and other temporary emergency requirements.
  • Extending all temporary permits. Implementing a 90-day Emergency Limited License for inactive or retired nurses who do not meet the competency requirements of 400 hours in past 4 years; waiving the requirement of a refresher course and allowing facilities to provide 120 hours of supervised practice hours; there is no fee for the 90-day Emergency Limited License.

Last Source Review: 7/29/2020
Last Updated:7/29/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/9/2020
Source: Office of Mike DeWine Governor of the State of Ohio
COVID-19 Information: Ohio Department of Health

Summary

  • Status: Active, until the end of Ohio State of Emergency.
  • Although Ohio does not have the legal mechanism to allow out-of-state licensees to practice in Ohio or to automatically reactive licensees – the board voted they feel comfortable with issuing emergency licenses with necessary parameters IF the Medical Board is given legal authority to do so.
  • Effective immediately, the enforcement of continuing education requirements for the renewal of a license is suspended. Effective on March 9, 2020, until March 1, 2021.
  • Suspended enforcement of the continuing education requirements for the renewal of a license issued by the State Medical Board of OH. This applies to renewals due by 3/9/2020 – 3/1/2021.
  • Authorizes Board staff to work with agencies to effectuate Ohio licensure eligibility of state doctors who are called upon to respond to an emergency.
  • The Nurse Practice Act, Section 4723.32(G)(7), Ohio Revised Code (ORC), allows nurses who hold an active, valid license in another state to practice in OH for the duration of any declared disaster.
  • If a person is required to take action to renew a professional license issued by the state agencies and political subdivisions during the period of the COVID-19 emergency, the license is not required to be renewed until 90 days after the COVID-19 emergency expires, or December 1, 2020, whichever is earlier.

Last Source Review: 7/29/2020
Last Updated:7/29/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/21/2020
Source: State of Oklahoma | Office of the Governor
COVID-19 Information: Oklahoma State Department of Health

Summary

  • Status: All occupational licenses issued by any agency, board, or commission… that expire during this emergency shall be extended. All occupational licenses extended during this Order will expire 14 days following the withdrawal or termination of this Order.
  • Any medical professional who holds a license, certificate, or other permit issued by any state is a party to the Emergency Management Compact, shall be deemed licensed to practice in OK so long as this Order shall be in office – licenses given during this time period to out of state practitioners will expire 14 days after the order is no in effect. Order waives state law requiring an existing doctor-patient relationship before telemedicine can be conducted.
  • Advanced Practice Registered Nurses, Registered Nurses, and Licensed Practical Nurses with lapsed or inactive licenses or certifications may be eligible for reinstatement
  • OK inactive, lapsed, or retired medical professionals can get a single state license by applying and paying a fee to the related board, CME requirements are waived to reenter the workforce.
  • Licenses will expire once the order is no longer in effect.
  • All occupational licenses issued by any agency, board, or commission that expire during this emergency shall be extended. All occupational licenses extended during this Order will expire 14 days following the withdrawal or termination of this Order.

Last Source Review: 7/29/2020
Last Updated: 7/29/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/19/2020
Source: Office of the Governor State of Oregon, State Board of Nursing (OSBN), Office of Governor of State of Oregon re: Oregon Board of Pharmacy
COVID-19 Information: Oregon Health Authority

Summary

  • Status: Active, until the end of the Oregon State of Emergency.
  • New expedited license reactivation process for Administrative Medicine, Inactive, Lapsed, and Retired physicians and PAs who have been inactive practice within the previous three years and who ended their practice in good standing with the Board.
  • Licensees will not be asked to report specialty board recertification or completed CME hours until the end of the next licensure biennium.
  • Renewals are deferred by the Oregon State Board of Nursing pending a decision by the Governor to end the emergency declaration. Once the deferral is rescinded, licensees will have 30 days to pay their full renewal fees. Deferrals are applicable to licenses that were active as of March 24, 2020.
  • Retired RNs, LPNs, and CNAs who can meet the competency requirement and wish to reactivate their Oregon licenses or certificates may do so at no charge.
  • Any pharmacist whose license has been inactive for no more than two years may reactivate their license without having to complete continuing education or MPJE. There is no fee and the license will revert back to lapsed status at the end of six months.
  • All Pharmacy Technician (PT) licenses with an expiration date of 6/30/2020: plan to extend to 12/31/2020.
  • An Oregon registered drug outlet may employ a pharmacist, intern or pharmacy technician who does not hold a license issued by the Board.
  • The Board is allowing Nurses, Nursing Assistants, Physicians, Physician Assistants licensed in another state or US jurisdiction to provide care in OR under special provisions.
  • Administrative rules lifted on Emeritus and Locum Tenens Physicians and Physician Assistants; Emertius are no longer limited to volunteer practice only, and Locum Tenens are no longer limited to 240 practice days per biennium.
  • Physicians and PAs with an active status license to practice medicine in Oregon may provide care vis telemedicine to their Oregon patients. Out-of-state physicians with a telemedicine license may provide remote care to their Oregon patients.

Last Source Review: 7/29/2020
Last Updated: 7/29/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/21/2020
Source: Pennsylvania Government Pressroom
COVID-19 Information: Pennsylvania Department of Health Coronavirus (COVID-19) Overview

Summary

 

  • Status: Active, until the end of the Pennsylvania State of Emergency.
  • Temporary permits for nurses licensed in other states can be issued immediately upon application.
  • Governor temporarily suspended continuing education requirements.
  • Licensees who are inactive/retired status for less than four years can apply for reactivation of the license.
  • Pennsylvania Emergency Medical Services Certifications with an expiration date of 3/31/2020 or 4/1/2020 HAVE BEEN extended until 7/1/2020.
  • BPOA may suspend any CE requirements for such applicants seeking a temporary license.

Pennsylvania Suspends Some Nurse Licensing Requirements to Aid Coronavirus Response

  • The Department of State has suspended certain administrative requirements for nurses, including temporarily extending license expiration dates and waiving associated fees during the coronavirus emergency.
  • Temporary nursing practice permits and graduate permits will be extended beyond one year and extension fees will be waived.
  • Registered Nurses will not have to apply for extensions of their RN graduate or temporary permits. All temporary and graduate permits that would normally expire during the next 90 days will be automatically extended for an additional 90 days.
  • Practical Nurses will not have to apply for extensions of their PN graduate or temporary permits.  All temporary and graduate permits that would normally expire during the next 90 days will be automatically extended for an additional 90 days.
  • Registered Nurses, Certified Registered Nurse Practitioners (CRNPs) and Certified Nurse Specialists (CNS) can continue to care for patients if their licenses are currently “in renewal” and set to expire on April 30, 2020. These licenses will be extended for an additional three months until July 31, 2020.

Pennsylvania Expands Access to Pharmacy Services

  • For licensed pharmacists who also have the authorization to administer injectables, the Department is temporarily suspending the requirement that the pharmacist holds an active CPR certificate, so long as a pharmacist’s CPR certificate was valid on March 17, 2020.  Under these circumstances, the CPR certificate will be extended and accepted as valid through December 31, 2020.

Licensed Health Care Practitioners Can Provide Telemedicine Services to Pennsylvanians During Coronavirus Emergency

Some License Requirements for Qualified Physicians Assistants Are Suspended During Coronavirus Emergency

Pennsylvania Suspends Certain Licensure Requirements for State Board of Psychology, and State Board of Social Work, Marriage and Family Therapy, and Professional Counselors

Issuance of Temporary Licenses to Health Care Practitioners Not Licensed In Pennsylvania to be Expedited During Coronavirus Emergency

Certain regulations suspended for Nurse-Midwives

  • Instead, during this declared emergency, after the collaborative agreement is agreed upon, Certified Nurse-Midwives may immediately begin to engage in the practice of midwifery
  • Certified Nurse-Midwives must still notify the Board of any changes as soon as possible, but no later than 30 days following the end of the COVID19 emergency. Certified Nurse-Midwives may continue to engage in the practice of midwifery even if changes to the collaborative agreement are not provided to the Board within 30 days. Certified Nurse-Midwives should not interrupt the practice of midwifery if they are unable to meet the 30-day requirement
  • Suspension of the reactivation requirement related to a personal interview conducted by the Board.
  • Temporarily suspended continuing education requirements.
  • Therefore, any Certified Nurse-Midwife licenses reactivated to help with the pandemic, will be bear an expiration date of December 31, 2020. Holders of licenses granted through the suspension who wish to seek renewal of their license beyond December 31, 2020, are required to satisfy the standard requirements for licensure renewal.

Medical Doctors’ Two-Facility Institutional License Limit Suspended During Coronavirus Emergency

Some Continuing-Education Restrictions Suspended for Licensed Professionals

  • Fees, Continuing Education Requirements, and other admin requirements are waived for retired/expired/lapsed PA license holders for the following practices: occupational therapists, occupational therapy assistants, physical therapists, physical therapy assistants, speech-language pathologists, audiologists, and licensed dietitian-nutritionists

Last Source Review: 7/29/2020
Last Updated:7/29/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/9/2020
Source: State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations
COVID-19 Information: State of Rhode Island Department of Health

Summary

  • Status: Active, until the end of the Rhode Island State of Emergency.
  • Re: Extension of State of Emergency – [Gov.] Raimondo extends the Rhode Island state of emergency until at least July 5.
  • Beginning 3/18/2020, out-of-state licensees need only submit a completed application form and a statement verifying the license status from their home state to receive a 90-day license to practice in RI. This temporary license can be renewed once.
  • The Board wishes to make clear that it encourages all physicians to use telemedicine to deliver care to their patients and that the Board will not take action against physicians not licensed to practice in Rhode Island who, during the state of emergency, use telemedicine to deliver care to their established Rhode Island patients.
  • Health insurers must cover telemedicine for primary care, specialty care, and mental and behavioral health care.

Last Source Review: 7/29/2020
Last Updated: 7/29/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/13/2020
Source: South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation, South Carolina Governor
COVID-19 Information: South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control

Summary

  • Status: Active, until the end of the South Carolina State of Emergency.
  • South Carolina Board of Medical Examiners is temporarily waiving licensing requirements for physicians, physician assistants, and respiratory care practitioners licensed and in good standing in another state and whose services are determined to be necessary
  • Board of Nursing can expedite multi-state licensure of advanced practice registered nurses (APRNs), as well as RNs and LPNs from non-compact states. The license is good for 15 days, but may be renewed.
  • License renewal deadline extended to September 30, 2020 for licenses, registrations, and permits scheduled to renew during the months of April, May, June, July, and August 2020.
  • State Medical Board can expedite temporary licensure for out-of-state Physicians, Physician Assistants, and Respiratory Care Practitioners within 24 hours.
  • “[t]he appropriate licensing authority may waive any or all licensing requirements, permits, or fees required by law and applicable orders, rules, or regulations for health care providers from other jurisdictions to practice in this State.”
  • South Carolina will issue “emergency” nursing and medical licenses to combat the COVID-19 pandemic. The state medical board can expedite temporary licensure for out-of-state physicians, physician assistants, and respiratory care practitioners within 24 hours. There is no fee for these 90-day temporary licenses.
  • The Board hereby suspends enforcement of the prohibition on prescribing Schedule II and II medications via telemedicine without prior Board approval, subject to certain conditions. Such approval is granted to the following practitioners who are permanently licensed in good standing in South Carolina and physically present in South Carolina at the time care is provided.
  • The Board will enforce all other aspects of the Telemedicine Act… including the practitioner’s participation in the South Carolina Prescription Monitoring Program and the prohibition on prescribing all other classes of drugs.

Last Source Review: 7/29/2020
Last Updated:7/29/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/23/2020
Source: State of South Dakota Office of the Governor Executive Order 2020-07
COVID-19 Information: South Dakota Department of Health

Summary

  • Status: Active, until the end of the South Dakota State of Emergency.
  • Executive Order 2020-07 grants “full recognition to the licenses held by a [medical] professional by any compact member state, in accordance with the Uniform Emergency Management Assistance Compact…whether in-person or by remote needs.”
  • Does not require any continuing medical education for physicians.
  • Pursuant to [S.D. Code], “I will grant full recognition to the licenses held by a professional by any compact member state, in accordance with the Uniform Emergency Management Assistance Compact (EMAC) should those facilities require additional professionals to meet patient demand during the COVID-19 emergency, whether in person or by remote means.”
  • Emergency Management Assistance Compact – On March 23, 2020, Gov. Noem issued Executive Order 2020-07 which recognizes the licenses of medical professionals licensed in another state in accordance with the EMAC. The following professions licensed in other states have the authority to practice in SD based on an active license in another state. They do not need to gain another license in SD. The Board of Medical and Osteopathic Examiners recommends that if you are utilizing the services of one of the professionals licensed in other states that you verify the licensure status of that individual (License verifications)… Physicians and Surgeons (SDCL 36-4), Physicians Assistants (SDCL 36-4A).

Last Source Review: 7/29/2020
Last Updated:7/29/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/12/2020
Source: State of Tennessee Executive Order by the Governor
COVID-19 Information: Tennessee Department of Health

Summary

  • Status: Active, currently scheduled to expire June 30.
  • Re: Extension of State of Emergency – On May 12, Gov. Lee signed Executive Order Nos. 36 and 37, extending the state of emergency declaration from May 18, to June 30, to extend certain provisions facilitating the continued response to the COVID-19 pandemic… It also gives the ability to get 90-day prescriptions on certain medications. It also allows all licensed healthcare providers the ability to practice telemedicine. Out-of-state health care providers are also able to practice in Tennessee, under certain guidelines.
  • Rules are suspended to the extent necessary to extend the current expiration dates for health care professionals and facilities to renew their license, certificate, or registration set to expire between March 12, 2020 and the date on which this Order terminates for three months
  • Licensed out-of-state health care professionals can practice in Tennessee as long as the provider is assisting in the medical response to COVID-19
  • Healthcare licenses, certificates, and registrations are further extended until August 31, 2020 – increases the number of health care professionals and facilities that are eligible for an extension and increases the length of extensions until August 31, 2020.
  • Healthcare license application fees are due June 30, 2020 – increases the number of initial applicants who are eligible for a fee suspension and delays the due date for application fees until June 30, 2020.

Last Source Review: 7/29/2020
Last Updated:7/29/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/14/2020
Source: Office of the Texas Governor | Greg Abbott
COVID-19 Information: Texas Health and Human Services

Summary

  • Status: Active, until the end of the Texas State of Emergency.
  • Emergency Visiting Practitioner Temporary Permit is valid for no more than thirty (30) days from the date the physician is licensed or until the emergency or disaster declaration has been withdrawn or ended, whichever is longer.
  • Extension of waiver for chronic pain, which allows for telephone refills of a valid prescription for treatment of chronic pain. The extension is effective until June 6, 2020
  • CE requirements related to this renewal extension will be waived. Physician and physician assistant licensees whose current permit expired on 2/28/2020 or 5/31/2020 will be extended until 8/31/2020, and any late fees previously accrued will be waived. Also, new licensed physician or physician assistants whose initial registration is due on March, April, May, or June of 2020 will be extended until 8/31/2020
  • Texas resident retired physicians seeking a return to active status whose license has been placed on official retired status for less than two years are encouraged to apply for licensure
  • In accordance with Section 418.171 of Texas Government Code, any out-of-state nurse with a license in good standing is not required to hold a Texas license in order to practice nursing in a disaster relief effort operation setting.
  • Governor directed agencies to fast-track the temporary licensing of out-of-state Physicians, Physician Assistants, certain retired Physicians, nurses, and other license types.
  • Board will automatically extend the license and permit expiration dates through 8/31/2020 (mentions Physicians and Physician Assistants licenses specifically). Continuing education requirements related to renewal will be waived.
  • APRN, RN, LVN licenses are given a 6-month grace period for license renewal beginning March 23rd – late fees waived and continuing education requirements are waived. “any nurse whose license expires between March 23 and September 30, 2020 may continue to practice until September 30, 2020.”
  • Out-of-state physicians, physician assistants, certain retired physicians (less than 2 years) to obtain a Texas limited emergency license or hospital-to-hospital credentialing for no more than thirty (30) days from the date the physician is licensed or until the disaster declaration has been withdrawn or ended, whichever is longer.
  • The TMB is allowing out-of-state physicians to obtain a Texas limited emergency license via two options: (1) hospital to hospital credentialing or (2) the issuance of an emergency license based on written verification of a physician licensed in Texas.
  • To assist our license and permit holders affected by and/or assisting with the repose to COVID-19, the TMB will automatically extend the license and permit expiration dates as indicated below.

Texas Board of Nursing – COVID-19 Information

Governor Abbott Waives Several Board of Nursing Regulations
(3/21/20)

Following Governor Greg Abbott’s state disaster declaration on March 13, 2020, the Texas Board of Nursing, with direction and assistance from the Governor’s Office, is implementing procedures to waive certain requirements to help the state’s licensed vocational nurses, registered nurses and advanced practice registered nurses respond to COVID-19. These requests for waivers are based upon the assertion that strict compliance with these laws could prevent, hinder, or delay the deliverance of nursing care in relation to efforts to cope with the declared disaster.

On March 21, 2020, in accordance with section 418.016 of the Texas Government Code, the Office of the Governor granted the Board of Nursing’s request to suspend 22 Tex. Admin Code 217.3(a)(2) and (4), 22 Tex. Admin. Code 214.10(e)(3), 22 Tex. Admin. Code 217.9(f), and 22 Tex. Admin. Code 217.9(g). This suspension is in effect until terminated by the Office of the Governor or until the March 13, 2020 disaster declaration is lifted or expires.

Below is a breakdown of each of the rules temporarily waived:

22 Tex. Admin. Code §217.3(a)(2) and (4) relating to Temporary Authorization to Practice/Temporary Permit:

This rule relates to temporary authorization to practice/temporary permits for graduate nurses and graduate vocational nurses.  Prior to this waiver, the rule limited the length of a graduate nurse (GN) or graduate vocational nurse (GVN) permit to 75 days.  The granted waiver now allows the Board to extend GN and GVN permits up to 6 months.

This extension will allow nurse graduates to continue to practice until they can take the licensing exam.  These individuals must still be supervised by a licensed nurse in their GN/ GVN roles.  Employers will be able to employ these graduates and meet health care demands during the declared emergency.  Further, the public will have greater access to care when health care demands are stretched if these individuals can practice during this time.

22 Tex. Admin. Code §214.10(e)(3) and §215.10(e)(3) relating to Clinical Learning Experiences for Vocational Nursing and Professional Nursing Education Programs:

Prior to this waiver, these rules limited clinical learning experiences for vocational nursing  and professional/registered nursing students to 50% simulation activities in each clinical course. The granted waiver now allows students in their final year of a nursing education program to meet clinical learning objectives by exceeding the 50% limit on simulated clinical learning experiences.

This temporary waiver may help senior nursing students enrolled in a program that has ceased direct care clinical learning experiences to graduate as planned and become a part of the nursing workforce during this unprecedented disaster when employers need “all hands on deck”.

22 Tex. Admin. Code 217.9(f) and 217.9(g) relating to Inactive and Retired Licensure Status:

Prior to this waiver, Rule 217.9(f) required a nurse who has not practiced in Texas and whose license has been in inactive state for less than 4 years to complete a reactivation application form, pay a fee, and submit verification of 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE).  The granted waiver now eliminates licensure reactivation fees and CE requirements for these applicants.  This will help expedite reactivation of licenses during this time of great need to increase the nursing workforce.

Prior to this waiver, Section 217.9 (g) required a nurse whose license has been inactive for more than four years to complete an additional refresher course and jurisprudence exam, in addition to a reactivation fee and completion of CE. This waiver eliminates licensure reactivation fees, CE requirements, refresher course requirements, and the jurisprudence exam requirement. Employers who seek to employ nurses who have been out of practice for a significant period of time are encouraged to assess each nurse’s competency and offer orientation necessary to assure the nurse is competent to practice safely.

Source URL: Texas Board of Nursing

Medical Board License Renewal Grace Period

Physician and physician assistant licensees whose current permit expired/expires on 2/28/2020 or 5/31/2020 will automatically be extended through 8/31/2020, and any late fees previously accrued will be waived.  Newly licensed physicians and physician assistants whose initial registration is due in March, April, May or June of 2020 will have that due date extended to 8/31/2020 as well.

Medical Physicists, Medical Radiologic Technologists, Perfusionists, Respiratory Care Practitioners and those on the Non-Certified Radiologic Technician Registry whose current permit expired/expires on 2/28/2020, 5/31/2020 or 6/30/2020 will automatically be extended through 8/31/2020, and any late fees previously accrued will be waived.

Surgical Assistants whose current permit expires on 6/30/2020 will automatically be extended through 8/31/2020.

Texas Medical Board

Last Source Review: 9/8/2020
Last Updated:9/8/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/6/2020
Source: Governor of Gary Herbert
COVID-19 Information: Utah Government 

Summary

  • Status: Active, until end of Utah State of Emergency, currently scheduled to expire September 19, 2020.
  • An out-of-state physician may practice without a Utah license if: (a) the individual is licensed in good standing as a physician in another state with no licensing action pending and no less than 10 years of professional experience; (b) the services are rendered as a public service and for a noncommercial purpose; (c) no fee or other consideration of value is charged, received, expected, or contemplated for the services rendered beyond an amount necessary to cover the proportionate cost of malpractice insurance; and (d) the individual does not otherwise engage in unlawful or unprofessional conduct.
  • The requirement to participate in “live” CE hours is suspended for those who have license expiration dates from now until September 30, 2020.
  • An individual serving in any federal agency in the U.S. may practice in Utah as a part of employment if they hold a valid license issued by another state.
  • If a healthcare professional’s former Utah license expired or lapsed while in good standing, they may obtain expedited licensure by submitting an application for renewal or reinstatement of licensure.
  • A nurse with a valid license in another U.S. state or territory without restrictions or conditions may practice in Utah for the duration of the declared emergency by obtaining a DOPL Time-Limited Emergency License. This license expires upon the earlier of 180 days, 30 days from the end of the declared emergency, or upon 10 days’ notice from DOPL.
  • Executive Order issued 3/26/2020 allows medical providers to offer a telehealth service that does not comply with the security and privacy standards required by Utah law.
  • Many other healthcare professionals who were formerly licensed in Utah or in another U.S. state or territory, whose license was unrestricted and in good standing, may apply for a volunteer health care practitioner license to work exclusively as a volunteer at a qualified location. These professionals would work under a delegation of service agreement with an actively licensed supervising professional.
  • A military spouse who has been relocated to Utah by military orders and has an active license in good standing from another state may practice in Utah within the scope of their license. No DOPL application or registration is required.
  • Healthcare professionals who do not hold a current Utah license may work in Utah within their scope of practice under the following temporary emergency exemptions and other existing exemptions. See Utah Code 58-1-307 and 58-81-101 et. seq.

Last Source Review: 9/8/2020
Last Updated:9/8/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/13/2020
Source: State of Vermont Executive Department Order No. 01-20, Vermont Legislature
COVID-19 Information: Vermont Public Health Responses – Disease Outbreaks

Summary

  • Status: The Office will revoke this policy when the impact of COVID-19 has subsided (currently scheduled to expire September 15, 2020).
  • Will allow continuing medical education for up to 180 days and will provide alternatives to face-to-face CME opportunities
  • Those who do not qualify to be deemed licensed may apply for an emergency license – will be valid for 90 days and require no fee
  • Temporary license available for mental health professionals who have completed all other post-degree requirements for licensure that could not take exams
  • Vermont State Statutes, during a state of emergency, allow applicants who are coming in to assist with the emergency, with a temporary license that is valid for 90 days, renewable every 90 days until the state of emergency is over.
  • VT H. 960, which was signed into law on July 6, ensures that physicians licensed out-of-state will be able to practice in-person or provide telemedicine or to Vermont residents until March 31, 2021.

Last Source Review: 7/29/2020
Last Updated: 7/29/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/12/2020
Source: Commonwealth of Virginia Office of the Governor
COVID-19 Information: Virginia Department of Health – COVID-19 in Virginia

Summary

  • Status: Active until further notice.
  • CE regulations and fees have been waived for reinstatement or reactivation of licensure for doctors of medicine, osteopathic medicine, physician assistants, and respiratory therapists who held an unencumbered, active license within the past four years.
  • If a licensee is unable to complete all 60 hours of CME due to COVID-19, the board may grant them an exemption for all or part of requirements for circumstances beyond their control.
  • Governor waives the requirements for submission of a fee and evidence of continuing education to reinstate or reactivate a license for Registered Nurses, Licensed Practical Nurses, and License Nurse Practitioners who held an unrestricted, active license issued by the Board within the past four years.
  • Out-of-state health practitioners licensed and in good standing shall be deemed to be an active license issued by VA. Hospitals, Facilities, etc., must submit to the applicable licensing authority each out-of-state practitioner’s information within a reasonable time of arrival.
  • Healthcare practitioners with an active license issued by another state may provide continuity of care to their current patients who are Virginia residents through telehealth services. The establishment of a relationship with a new patient requires a Virginia license.
  • Existing Virginia code provides that “The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the requirements for circumstances beyond the control of the licensee, such as temporary disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared disasters.” If the licensee is unable to complete all of the required 60 hours of CME due to the COVID-19 crisis, he/she will indicate this at the time of license renewal. The licensee will then be asked to explain the reasons he/she was unable to complete the 60 hours (i.e. canceled courses).

Virginia Department of Health Professionals for Out-of-State Licensee Reporting

Hospitals, licensed nursing facilities, dialysis facilities, physicians’ offices, and other healthcare facilities in Virginia must notify DHP prior to, or within a reasonable time after employing or engaging an out-of-state healthcare practitioner.

Last Source Review: 7/29/2020
Last Updated:7/29/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/11/2020
Source: Washington D.C. Office of the Mayor
COVID-19 Information: Washington State Department of Health

Summary

  • Status: Active, currently scheduled to expire in early October.
  • Any healthcare provider who is licensed in their home jurisdiction in their field of expertise who is providing healthcare to residents of the District shall be deemed temporary agents of the District for the duration of this order (given particular limitations).
  • Out-of-State healthcare workers in good standing can work in Washington D.C.
  • The use of telehealth does not eliminate the requirement for licensure. The practice of your healthcare profession occurs where the patient is located, so any practitioner providing telehealth services to patients located in the District of Columbia must be licensed in the District of Columbia by their appropriate licensing board.
  • At a press conference [July 15], Mayor Bowser said the state of emergency will likely be extended through early October.

Last Source Review: 7/29/2020
Last Updated: 7/29/2020

Date of Declaration: 2/29/2020
Source: State of Washington | Office of the Governor
COVID-19 Information: Washington State Department of Health

Summary

  • Status – Active throughout COVID-19 emergency per RCW § 70.15.050 “While an emergency declaration is in effect, a volunteer health practitioner, registered with a registration system… and licensed and in good standing in the state upon which the practitioner’s registration is based, may practice in this state to the extent authorized by this chapter as if the practitioner were licensed in this state.”
  • Re renewals – All licenses due to expire between April and September 2020 have been automatically renewed in response to the COVID – 19 pandemic and renewal fees are not due until 1 October 2020 for those renewals.
  • The language of each statutory and regulatory provision specified below is hereby waived and suspended indefinitely: Licensed health profession rules restricting the practice of retired active licensees. 
  • WAC 246-919-480 Retired active license. (1) To obtain a retired active license a physician… may practice only in emergent or intermittent circumstances. Conditions that physicians with retired active licenses cannot receive compensation and report 100 CME hours every two years will be waived according to the Governor’s Emergency Proclamation 20-05 and will remain in effect until the Governor issues a proclamation declaring the termination of the state of emergency •
  • RCW 70.15.050: “(1) While an emergency declaration is in effect, a volunteer health practitioner, registered with a registration system that complies with RCW 70.15.040 and licensed and in good standing in the state upon which the practitioner’s registration is based, may practice in this state to the extent authorized by this chapter as if the practitioner were licensed in this state…”

Emergency Volunteer Health Practitioner Act – Volunteers Needed – State Licensing Conditionally Waived

Department of Health (DOH) will now enroll and activate emergency volunteer health practitioners in preparation for health system requests and surging.

If volunteers are registered in the volunteer health practitioner system and verified to be in good standing in all states where they are licensed, they may practice in Washington without obtaining a Washington license once activated and assigned by DOH.

Emergency Volunteer Health Practitioner Act

Washington Needs Health Practitioners for the COVID-19 State of Emergency

Health professionals licensed in other states may practice in Washington by registering through the emergency volunteer health practitioner process or by applying for a WA license, which may result in the department issuing a temporary practice permit.

Washington Department of Health | 2019 Novel Coronavirus Outbreak (COVID-19)

Last Source Review: 7/29/2020
Last Updated:7/29/2020

Date of Declaration: 4/3/2020
Source: Executive Order 10-20, West Virginia Board of Medicine
COVID-19 Information: Department of Health & Human Resources of West Virginia

Summary

  • Status: Active until the end of the COVID-19 emergency.
  • The board has developed procedures for emergency temporary permits for particular practitioners
  • Inactive and retired physician and physician assistants are eligible to register if they were in good standing when their license expired, have participated in active clinical work in the past five years, no longer hold an active status in an opposing state, do not have any pending disciplinary proceedings, or have not surrendered a license during an investigation.
  • The following will remain suspended until there is no longer a State of Emergency: the requirement that individuals graduating from ACGME programs have to complete 40 hours of continuing medical education prior to licensure and the requirement that physicians biennially furnish proof of completion of 32 hours of CME prior to renewal.
  • West Virginia has expanded the use of audio-visual telehealth for non-emergent E&M services to Medicaid members, for mental health visits and in federally qualified health centers (FQHCs) and rural health clinics (RHCs).
  • DOs: To maximize the number of healthcare providers available during the State of Emergency declared by Governor Jim Justice regarding the COVID-19 pandemic, the Board has developed procedures for emergency temporary permits for the following practitioners: (1) Out-of-State Practitioners: DOs and PAs who have no pending complaints, investigations, consent orders, board orders, or pending disciplinary proceedings and who possess valid, unrestricted medical licensure in another state, district, or territory of the United States… Individuals seeking an emergency temporary permit may not begin practicing in West Virginia until they have received authorization from the Board.
  • Individuals obtaining an emergency temporary permit shall be subject to the Board’s jurisdiction… Emergency Temporary Permits will remain valid until terminated by the Board or the State of Emergency is lifted, whichever occurs first.

Out of State MDs and PAs and Retired WV MDs and PAs Can Register to Practice in WV During State of Emergency

To register, out of state physicians and physician assistants: (1)  must hold a valid, permanent, current, and unrestricted license to practice in another state; (2) must not be the subject of a pending or active complaint, investigation, Consent Order, Board Order or pending disciplinary proceeding in any jurisdiction; and (3) must not have not surrendered a license while under investigation or had a license revoked in any jurisdiction.

Inactive and retired physicians and physician assistants are eligible to register if they: (1) were in good standing at the time their  West Virginia license became inactive or expired; (2) have participated in active clinical practice within the last five years; (3) no longer hold an active status medical or physician assistant license in any state;   (4) are not the subject of a pending or active complaint, investigation, Consent Order, Board Order or pending disciplinary proceeding in any jurisdiction; and (5) have not surrendered a  license while under investigation or had a license revoked in any jurisdiction.

Licensure and Continuing Education: (Updated 3-30-20)

To assist the West Virginia Board of Medicine in relieving regulatory burdens on practitioners who are responding to the COVID 19 pandemic, the Governor has suspended certain provisions of the Medical Practice Act to give the Board flexibility regarding license expiration and renewal during the current State of Emergency This has allowed the Board to extend the expiration date of all licenses, permits, registrations and authorizations which are scheduled to expire between now and June 30. Relatedly, renewal for all such credentials will also be extended. Renewal will begin as scheduled at 8 30 am EDT on May 6 but will be extended until 4 30 pm EDT on Sept 30 This also will apply to all PLLCs and, upon request, to any Medical Corporations which are scheduled to expire between now and June 30. Additional information will be provided via eblast to affected credential holders in April 2020.

Out-of-State APRN and RN can practice in WV

Executive order waives the “requirement that any person practicing or offering to practice as a RN or APRN have a license issued by the West Virginia Board of Registered Professional Nurses with the exception of those with pending complaints, investigations, consent orders, board orders, or pending disciplinary proceedings and provided the RN or APRN is licensed in another state”

Out-of-State Speech-Language Pathology & Audiology can register to practice for the duration of the State of Emergency

Last Source Review: 9/8/2020
Last Updated: 9/8/2020

Date of Declaration: 3/12/2020
Source: State of Wisconsin Office the Governor
COVID-19 Information: Wisconsin Department of Health Services

Summary

  • Status: Active until 60 days after the end of the COVID-19 emergency, currently scheduled to be the end of October per EO 82.
  • Re: renewals- On April 15, Gov. Evers signed AB 1038, which, among other things, grants healthcare providers a license renewal grace period through the 60th day after the conclusion of the COVID-19 emergency.
  • “Any health care provider with a valid and current license issued by another state may practice under that license and within the scope of that license in Wisconsin without first obtaining a temporary or permanent license from the Department of Safety and Professional Services (DSPS)…”
  • The practice of any nurse, currently licensed in another jurisdiction, in the provision of nursing care in the case of an emergency or disaster as declared by the Governor.
  • The Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services Credentialing has suspended multiple administrative rules for expired credentials and licenses. The DSPS is assessing its records to identify health care providers with recently lapsed licenses who would be eligible for renewal.
  • Any temporary license shall remain valid for 30 days after the conclusion of the declared emergency, including any extensions.
  • A physician providing telemedicine in the diagnosis and treatment of a patient who is located in this state must have a valid and current license issued by this State, another state, or Canada… A physician practicing under this section cannot be currently under investigation and must not currently have any restrictions or limitations placed on their license by their credentialing state or any other jurisdiction.

For Emergency Medical Service Licenses:

We are aware of concerns regarding the individual license renewal deadline and crew configurations. Both issues are being worked on. Additional information will be provided as soon as it is available. Due to the high volume of calls and emails, we will not be able to respond to inquiries regarding these two issues. Updates will be sent by e-licensing and posted on this website. Thank you for your understanding.

Department of Health Wisconsin

441.115  Exceptions; temporary practice. (out of state nursing license)

(b) A person who holds a current, valid nursing credential may practice professional or practical nursing in this state, as provided under par. (c), for not more than 72 consecutive hours each year without holding a license granted by the board under this subchapter if the board determines that the requirements for the nursing credential that the person holds are substantially equivalent to the requirements for licensure under this subchapter. Except in an emergency, the person shall provide to the board, at least 7 days before practicing professional or practical nursing for the person who is specified under par. (c) 2., written notice that includes the name of the person providing notice, the type of nursing credential that the person holds and the name of the state, territory, foreign country or province that granted the nursing credential. In the event of an emergency, the person shall provide to the board written notice that includes the information otherwise required under this paragraph, as soon as practicable.

Last Source Review: 7/29/2020
Last Updated: 7/29/2020

Date of Declaration: Not Available
Source: Wyoming Board of Medicine
COVID-19 Information: State Board of Nursing Wyoming

Summary

  • Status – Active until the end of the COVID-19 emergency.
  • Re: renewals – Due to the current COVID-19 pandemic, the Wyoming Board of Medicine has adopted an emergency rule extending the current license expiration date of its licensees from June 30, 2020, to September 30, 2020.
  • The Wyoming Medical Board has an emergency temporary permit application on their website for licensed out-of-state medical professionals seeking a temporary, voluntary license
  • Board has adopted an emergency rule extending the current license expiration date of its licensees from June 30, 2020, to September 30, 2020. Licensed physicians will need to renew their licenses on or before 5:00 pm, September 30, 2020.
  • The practice of any nurse or nursing assistant, currently licensed or certified in another jurisdiction, in the provision of nursing care in the case of an emergency or disaster as declared by the governor.
  • Physicians and Physician Assistants not licensed in WY may qualify to work in WY during the declared public health emergency through the “consultation exemption.” This requires Board and State Health Officer approval.

Nursing licensure during a declared emergency

“The practice of any nurse or nursing assistant, currently licensed or certified in another
jurisdiction, in the provision of nursing care in the case of an emergency or disaster as declared by the
governor.”

Due to the declared State of emergency, WSBN is extending graduate temporary permits for licensure or certification exam applicants until national exams are again available.

Wyoming State Board of Nursing

Out of State Physicians and Physician Assistants

Physicians and physician assistants not licensed in Wyoming may qualify to work here during the declared public health emergency through the “consultation exemption.”  If approved to do so, the physician or physician assistant is considered to be “consulting” with the State Health Officer.  The exemption from licensure, if approved, will be valid until the earlier of the end of the Public Health Emergency or the termination by the State Health Officer of the physician’s or physician assistant’s “consultation.”

Wyoming Board of Medicine

More resources to help your organization navigate COVID-19.

We’re here to help our healthcare partners respond to COVID-19 with no-cost license screening for medical volunteers.

Get the Details
ProviderTrust | Our Story
loading